Life in Small Town Arkansas

I live in Helena, Arkansas a town of approximately 12,000 people located in the heart of the Mississippi Delta. I grew up in Bellevue, Washington with Mil, so living in a small town has been a real change of pace. Our downtown is five blocks long and looks like this:

downtown

It’s the most intact historic downtown in Arkansas and I love its quaint feel.

I also love being right on the Mississippi River. In the afternoons after work we often take the dogs for a walk down to the River Park and let them run along the shore. Helena is the only downtown on the river between Memphis and Vicksburg, so we’re lucky to be able to walk right up to its muddy shores.

Our boardwalk overlooking the river

Our boardwalk overlooking the river

There are so many other reasons the husband and I enjoy our simple small town life. We love knowing people wherever we go… We love being able to see the stars at night…

I look forward to sharing some of our favorite things to do and see in a region that’s still somewhat undiscovered.

XOXO, Jules

4 responses

  1. I grew up in Helena, live in Jonesboro now. I love Helena but it is not the same town where I grew up. If I could get a job down there I would consider going back but I don’t think it will happen. Hope you continue to enjoy living there.

Leave a Reply

