Love your Leftovers: It’s Lime Time

A few weeks ago we threw a party…for the whole city. We launched a pop-up bar event, where we took an empty storefront and transformed it into a bar for one night only. About 200 people attended, closing things down at the very late hour of 11pm. I know, I know, in cities the parties are just getting started at 11pm. So goes small town life. Sadly it was one of the latest nights I’d had in a few months.

One of the signature drinks was Moscow Mules, which are a delicious combination of ginger beer, lime and vodka. It’s one of my favorite vodka drinks because it doesn’t actually taste like vodka. A bad experience in college has forever turned me off of the taste – everyone has that one experience, or two or three…

Afterwards, I came home with at least 15 limes. I squeezed some into my Diet Cokes and cooked fish with lime instead of lemon. And then I was still left with a whole drawer full of limes. What to do?

photo 1

I found this great recipe on My Baking Addiction that I only slightly tweaked to my preferences. They were so good that I’ve already made three batches to give away. I can only eat so many cookies a day without feeling guilty about my current laziness in the exercise department.

Chewy Lime Sugar Cookies
(Adapted from My Baking Addiction)

Ingredients:

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup butter, softened

1 1/2 cups white sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Zest of one large lime, finely minced

Juice of one large lime

½ cup unsweetened toasted coconut (optional. I made a batch without and it was still tasty)

1/2 cup sugar for rolling cookies

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper. In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside. Using a mixer beat together the butter and sugar until smooth and very fluffy. Beat in egg, vanilla extract, lime juice and lime zest.

photo 2

Gradually blend in the dry ingredients and toasted coconut. Roll rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, and roll in sugar. Place on lined cookie sheets about 1 1/2 inches apart.

photo 3

Bake 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until lightly browned. Let stand on cookie sheet two minutes before removing to cool on wire racks. Devour.

photo 4

What are your favorite ways to use limes?

XOXO, Jules

