Drugstore Beauty Buys

Whenever Jules tries to entice me to move to her small Arkansas town, I counter with the (totally reasonable) point that I could never live more than 30 minutes away from a Sephora. But while I’m an admitted devotee of many high-end beauty brands, there are some products available at the local drugstore that I love just as much as my Sephora splurges. Here are a few of my drugstore beauty picks:

Drugstore beauty buys

St. Ives Apricot Scrub

I have tried many, many face scrubs over the years, and this one always comes out on top. It’s grittier than most other scrubs, so it’s an amazing exfoliator, but it’s not too harsh for sensitive skin. Plus, it comes in several variations (Blemish & Blackhead Control, Invigorating, etc.), so it works well with a wide range of skin types.

Olay Foaming Face Wash for Sensitive Skin

This is a great, basic, no-frills cleanser that cleans deep and leaves your skin surprisingly soft. I actually discovered it during a sleepover at my friend’s place in college, and it’s had a spot in my shower ever since. Thanks, Amanda!

Aquaphor

The magical fix-all remedy of my medicine cabinet, Aquaphor is pretty amazing stuff. Most often, I slather it on my lips before bedtime, keeping them moisturized through the night, but it’s also great for hydrating parched skin and cuticles. I’ve even used it to soothe sunburn!

NYX Tea Tree Blotting Paper

These amazing little blotting sheets are infused with soothing tea tree oil, and one quick swipe across your face helps eliminate midday shine and oil without smudging your makeup. They’re especially awesome during the warmer months when your skin may be oilier than usual.

Neutrogena Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover

This is hands-down the most effective eye makeup remover ever. It obliterates even the most stubborn waterproof liner and mascara in only a swipe or two, never pulling or irritating the skin.

John Frieda Frizz Ease Secret Weapon Finishing Crème

Let’s put it this way, Secret Weapon Finishing Crème really does live up to its name. You can use a little bit as a finisher to tame flyaways and frizz, or you can use a bit more as a styling agent—it will smooth your hair and provide light hold. A great way to fake a professional blowout (or make a real one last longer)!

Burt’s Bees Lip Crayon

This moisturizing lip crayon contains shea butter and jojoba oil, and is 100% natural. Likewise, the color is soft and natural-looking without sacrificing pigment. My favorite shade is Hawaiian Smolder, a medium matte pink.

What are some of the drugstore beauty items you swear by?

♥ Mil

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Glow Baby Glow: Luminizer 101 « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

Leave a Reply

