Love Your Leftovers: The Pie Edition

Pie is by far my favorite way to eat fruit. Apple, peach, cherry – name a fruit pie and I guarantee that I love it.

Every week when we grocery shop, the hubby and I always throw several different kinds of fruit in the cart. Some weeks it’s bananas and grapes, other weeks it’s all stone fruits – really we mostly choose whatever’s on sale. We’re cheap like that.

Yesterday, I opened my fridge for a snack and found a few stray varieties of fruit leftover from the weekly grocery run. A peach, a nectarine and a handful of strawberries. I know today is technically the first day of fall, but fall weather and fall fruits come to Arkansas a little later than in the northern half of the country. Rather than eat my fruit plain, I decided to whip up a mixed fruit pie using all three varieties. Why not? The more the merrier – or tastier in this case.

fruit

Here’s my standard recipe for fruit pie. It’s so easy that calling it a recipe is a bit of a stretch.

Filling:

  • A few cups chopped fruit, enough to fill the pie pan
  • ¼ cup sugar, I like a fresh tasting pie – not too sickly sweet
  • ¼ cup cornstarch to thicken the juices
  • Spices if you so desire. This really depends on the fruit. Cinnamon is great in a plain peach pie, but it doesn’t really jive with strawberries.

Mix the above ingredients together and then set aside.

bowl

For the bottom crust, I usually keep a few Pillsbury pie crusts in the freezer, which are great in a pinch. Otherwise use your favorite pie crust recipe. Here’s a favorite of recipe of mine: http://chezpim.com/bake/how-to-make-the-perfect-pie-dough. With fruit pies I always par bake the crust for about 10 minutes at 400 degrees.

For the top crust, I usually skip an actual crust and opt for the much easier crumble topping. This allows the filling to be highlighted a little bit more, which I like. I eat pie for the delicious fruit filling – not for the crust.

Crumble Topping (approximate ratio):

  • ½ stick butter
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup white sugar
  • ½ cup flour

Mix the above ingredients together, preferably with your hands, until you get a crumbly mixture with lumps about the size of peas.

Assemble your pie by pouring the filling into the par baked crust. Be careful to hold back any juices so the pie doesn’t get too soggy. Top the filling with the crumble topping to taste. I like a light covering but others may prefer a thicker more cobbler like layer.

pie

Pop into the oven and bake at 400 degrees for about 40-45 minutes. You should see the fruit bubbling until the crumble topping, which should be a light brown. When done, remove from oven and let cool for about 30-45 minutes, then dig in! I forgot to take a picture of me enjoying the end product, so you’ll have to imagine me digging in with glee.

What do you do with leftover fruit?

XOXO, Jules

3 responses

  1. YUM! I may actually attempt this later this week! Also–can you please move here so we can bake pies and watch Gilmore Girls together?? That would be swell.

Leave a Reply

