Menswear Inspired Fashion

Last year I had the privilege of standing by my long time friend Josh at his wedding. The wedding was on Lake Champlain in Burlington, Vermont, a truly beautiful part of the country. Since high school Josh and I had always joked about being in each others’ weddings, with him as a bridesmaid and me as a groomsmen. Unfortunately I was not able to convince him to cross dress in my wedding, but he was willing to let me play groomsmen in his. Getting to don a suit and wear a tie was a long time dream come true. I’ve always been into wearing boys’ and now mens’ clothing. In high school I wore t-shirts from the boys section at Value Village and went through a phase where I incorporated baseball pants into my regular rotation of outfits. Looking back it’s hard to believe that my friends tolerated some of my stranger fashion choices…

Josh all dressed up and ready to wed. Doesn't he look handsome?

Josh all dressed up and ready to wed. Doesn’t he look handsome?

 

These days when I’m not wearing dresses, I like to incorporate a little menswear inspired fashion into my outfits. I love wearing blazers over t-shirts and slapping suspenders onto pants that don’t really need the extra support. One of my favorite actresses, Katherine Hepburn, pulled off the menswear look with panache. If only my stubby legs could pull off high-waisted wide-leg trousers.

katherine-hepburn-high-waisted-pants

.
Here is a menswear look that’s more my style. More tomboy and a little less elegance.

menswear inspired

1. Blazer  2. T-shirt  3. Jeans  4. Necklace  5. Shoes

.
Want more menswear fashion inspiration? Check out this book for inspiration: Tom Boy by Lizzie Mettler.

XOXO, Jules
.

P.S. Josh and his wife, Meredith, are now expecting their first child. Woo hoo!

4 responses

  1. Great post, Julia! Love your picks … and the inspiration! 🙂 I think you could rock that wedding suit any day. Or even a wide leg trouser a la the great Kate Hepburn (I call her Kate because in my mind we’re friends.) xo!

  2. Pingback: Holiday Gift Guide: The Man in Your Life « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

  3. Pingback: Must Have Spring Power Pieces « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

Leave a Reply

