Jules: My Morning Routine

morning routine

Lately, I’ve been giving a lot of thought to my morning routine. There are things I feel like I should add into my routine, exercise being the most obvious, but for now I’m enjoying my mornings exactly as they are. I thought it might be fun to share it here, particularly in contrast to Mil.

I’ve always been a morning person. There is something so peaceful about sitting outside with a cup of tea (or hot water in my case) while my doggies run around in the yard and the rest of the world sleeps. Don’t get me wrong, there are days when I hit the snooze button and stay snuggled under the comforter for those extra few minutes, but I usually try to remind myself that I’ve never once regretted rolling out of bed right when the alarm goes off. I absolutely hate being rushed. I get frazzled easily, so I love having time to relax in the mornings and move at my own pace. I usually like to give myself an hour and a half of “me time” before I head to work. Here’s how I spend it.

First Thing…

I wake up and drink a large glass of hot water, while reading The Skimm. My hot water ritual warms up my insides and relaxes me without too much of a shock of flavor first thing in the morning. I then make some breakfast, usually a couple scrambled eggs and take my supplements. Rather than take a multi-vitamin I like to take individual vitamins so I know what each is doing. I struggle with depression, so I take Vitamins D and B for mood support. I also take Vitamin A for my skin and Biotin for my hair and nails. When I miss a day, I can really feel a difference in my mood and energy levels so I am especially careful to take my B & D.

In the Shower…

I take a really quick shower in the morning. To be honest I find showering to be hassle, so often this only happens every other day. I’d rather have 10 more minutes relaxing at the kitchen table, and I’m OK with that. My husband is too, and he has to live with me…right, Nick? I use Old Spice Body Wash in Pure Sport, which I love for its strong masculine scent. My husband and I share body wash, so his scent lingers on me throughout the morning.

I towel dry my hair, then let it air dry while I get dressed, which takes about 10 minutes. I always consider picking out my clothes the night before, but never seem to take the initiative. Here’s hoping, dear readers, that you are better than I! After I’m dressed, I apply a little Biosilk Silk Therapy Oil to the bottom half of my hair. I love how shiny my hair gets. I finish drying my hair with a blow drier for about 5 minutes with my head upside down for volume. When I flip my head over, I use Crack to smooth any flyways. I basically have a natural mohawk of flyways, so this stuff is truly a necessity.

Makeup…

My moisturizer of choice is Garnier Mosturize Rescue Refreshing Gel Cream. My skin leans towards the oily side, so this oil free gel is perfect and affordable to boot. If I need a little coverage, I’ll mix a squirt of Bare Minerals Bare Skin with my moisturizer. Every morning I waver between applying one of 3-4 blushes, but more often than not Bare Minerals Overall Color in Warmth beats out the competition. That’s about it, unless I feel inspired to apply some lip color. I feel like lipstick makes me look pulled together without having to fool with too much makeup, so I’ll swipe some on before a meeting or presentation. Recently I’ve been loving Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain. It comes in bold colors and doesn’t dry out my lips like some lipsticks. From start to finish, my makeup routine takes about 5 minutes.

On my way out I grab some coffee or a Diet Coke for the road and am out the door and on my way to work by around 7:30am.

So that’s my morning routine. What do you like to do in the mornings? What do you wish you did? I wish I worked out and am hoping to add this in starting next month. I’ll update y’all on how that goes in the next few weeks.

XOXO,
Jules

8 responses

  1. Hi Jules 🙂 Great post, I stumbled across this by sheer accident!! I love your morning routine, it sounds so much more fresh and proactive than mine – I’m not a morning person at all, takes me at least one cup of tea and an hour later to get the engines revved. However firstly I stumble out of bed, shower and moisturise (I’m using Olay products at the moment and Dove Pro Age – love them) then I usually sit and do my make-up for 15 minutes (this is my quiet time) before wandering downstairs and getting daughter/pets/hubby all fed and sorted for school and work. Pretty basic but it works 🙂 Really enjoyed reading yours however – always good to compare notes lol X

    http://www.confettiandcurves.wordpress.com

  2. I’m with you, Julia, in the morning. I get up at 5 am and don’t leave for work until about 7 or 7:15. I take the dogs and walk for about 30 minutes- we all love it!! No traffic on our gravel road. I love to sit in the morning! But I do go to bed by 9 pm!!

  3. Pingback: Mil: My Morning Routine « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

  4. Pingback: The Seven Minute Workout « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

