Mil: My Morning Routine

Upon reading about Julia’s morning routine, I actually laughed aloud in disbelief. Why anyone would willingly get out of bed before it was absolutely necessary (let alone get up at 6 am to sit quietly and drink hot water) is utterly incomprehensible to me. But to be fair, I am not what you would call a morning person.

Clinomania is my middle name.

Clinomania is my middle name.

 

In fact, I think of morning people as an entirely different species. If I could get away with it, I would stay up ’til 2 or 3 am every night. Sadly, modern workplace conventions prohibit me from keeping such hours. As it is, I usually go to bed around 1 am, and I’m up at 7:30 to be at work by 9. (However, I just started a job that will allow me to work from home frequently, so we’ll see what changes that brings to my routine!)

First thing…

Unlike my dear friend Julia, I have never once regretted staying in bed a few extra minutes. My alarm goes off at 7:15, but I prefer to ease myself awake, so I usually hit snooze a couple of times before finally dragging myself out of bed. Once I’m up, I put on one of my upbeat Spotify playlists to help shake off grogginess, give my email a quick once-over, and head to the bathroom.

products

The Hair

I shower at night to save precious time in the morning, and I sleep with my hair in a braid so that when I get up, it only needs a few minutes of blow drying. Before I blow dry, I spritz my still-damp hair with a frizz tamer (my current favorite is Moroccanoil Frizz Control) and a volumizer (usually John Frieda’s Luxurious Volume Fine-to-Full Blowout Spray). Once hair is 98% dry, I twist it up into a bun for the duration of my morning routine. Then, right before I head out the door, I let it down and it will have transformed into loose waves. I spray my hair all over with Oribe Thick Dry Finishing Spray for light hold and extra volume (this stuff will get its own post at some point, because I am head over heels obsessed with it).

The Face

For me, doing my makeup is my #1 priority in the morning, and it takes up the majority of my time—about 30 minutes (now Jules is the one who’s laughing, I’m sure). After swiping my face with Boots Botanics All Bright Cleansing Toner, I apply Fresh Lotus Youth Preserve Face Cream and bareMinerals Renew and Hydrate Eye Cream. Then I prime my skin for foundation with Laura Mercier Foundation Primer in Radiance.

Next up is one of my favorite beauty inventions of all time—bareMinerals Original Foundation. This stuff makes your face look immaculate. (As a bonus, the foundation itself is an amazing concealer when applied with a concealer brush.) After foundation, I sweep on Bobbi Brown Bronzing Powder.

I move on to my eyes, where I dab Too Faced Shadow Insurance Eyeshadow Primer onto my lids, followed by eyeshadow (I’ve been using NARS Alhambra almost daily). Next, I apply Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in Demolition; then I curl my eyelashes and brush on Diorshow Waterproof Mascara. Then I fill in my brows in a bit using Benefit Cosmetics Instant Brow Pencil.

Almost done! I swipe on some blush (currently loving Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush in Radiant Magenta) and lightly dust bareMinerals Hydrating Mineral Veil over my face to set my makeup. Lastly, I apply lipstick (the color will vary depending on my mood and my outfit, but I adore Benefit Cosmetics Silky Finish Lipstick in Nice Knickers, a bright pink).

Once my makeup is good to go, I get dressed and mist myself with Bvlgari Omnia Crystalline. Then I down my daily multivitamin (one of the few common aspects of our morning routines, Jules!) and dash out the door. If I have a couple of extra minutes, I buy a latte at my favorite neighborhood spot on the way to work—otherwise I’ll just grab coffee once I get to the office. For a long time, I haven’t eaten breakfast during the work week (cue gasps of horror) because I’m not that hungry early in the morning, but lately I’ve been trying to kick that habit. I’m usually able to force down about half an English muffin, but only if time permits. If I’m in a rush, I’ll grab a protein bar (or let’s be real, a Pop Tart) for later on my way out of the house.

And that’s it! What about you? Is your morning routine more like Julia’s or mine?

♥ Mil

2 responses

  1. Love these posts! I might do one pre- and post-baby (I’m sure they’ll be realllly different!) It’s so fun peeking in to other people’s routines. I’m definitely way closer to Mil’s routine than Julia’s! Washing hair at night – check. Snoozing a bunch? Check! Spending time on makeup? Double check 😉 …There’s one exception, though: I am a huge fan of breakfast. I even eat veggies every morning – I know, gross! Salad greens, broccoli and coffee (obvi) help me wake up.

    • Yay Meredith–snoozers unite!! And it would be super interesting to hear about how your routine differs before and after the baby…I love peeking into other people’s routines too 🙂

