How to Dress for an Interview

I started a new job earlier this month, and in the weeks leading up to it, my life was basically a never-ending series of interviews. As painful as that sounds, it did allow me to perfect my process for selecting interview outfits–something that can be quite stressful, but doesn’t have to be!

There’s something to be said for wearing a suit, but I usually prefer to have a bit more fun when I get dressed for an interview. Your outfit is a great way to express your individuality and make yourself stand out, especially if you’re interviewing in a more creative industry (I’ve worked in publishing, advertising and marketing, so I definitely fall into that realm). Here’s my foolproof formula for selecting an interview outfit.

 

Interview Outfits

 

 

First, pick a blazer in a neutral shade. Black, gray, white and pale pink are all great options; they’ll give your whole outfit a more polished look without overpowering it. Next, select a dress in an attention-grabbing color or a fun pattern–typically I lean towards red, purple, bright pink or sapphire blue, but go with something that works well with your skin tone. Next, pick your shoes; pumps in black, nude or burgundy are classic and go with pretty much everything. Finally, choose a structured tote to give your ensemble either an extra pop of color or an understated dash of elegance.

As you can see, it’s pretty easy to create a variety of outfits using only a few items from your wardrobe. Once you have several basic pieces in each of the above categories, you can mix and match to your heart’s content. But the most important thing to remember is this: dress for comfort and confidence. If you can’t strut your stuff in pumps without falling over, then wear flats. If you don’t feel like a power player in dresses, then by all means, wear trousers. If you can’t decide, don’t hesitate to FaceTime a friend. Once you figure out what makes you look and feel your best, you’ll be a force to be reckoned with!

Do you have a favorite go-to outfit for interviews?

♥ Mil

7 responses

  1. One day I was at work wearing black polka dot pants from Old Navy and a bright blue blouse with heels, and someone said it would be a good enough interview outfit… Oh the tech industry! But I still like to put in the extra effort when I do have interviews.

    • Oh I know!! I’m very much in favor of the casual dress code at work, but I regularly see people interviewing in jeans and I find it mildly horrifying…

Leave a Reply

