Treat Yo’ Self: Face Masks

Face masks are one of the earliest pampering rituals I remember experiencing; apart from painting our nails, testing out face masks was always a favorite slumber party pastime. Even all these years later, I still find the process just as enjoyable. Not only can masks address a wide variety of skin concerns, but they’re one of the few skincare products that provide instant gratification. This week I thought I’d share my experience with three different masks, all of which promised (and yielded) different results.

 

Mask 1

 

First up was Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask. This is the mask I use most frequently; it’s a powerful deep cleanser, but gentle enough to use whenever the mood strikes. I usually let it sit for about fifteen minutes and can feel the mask tighten as the active charcoal draws out toxins, dirt and anything else unsavory from my pores. It always leaves my face feeling fresh and clean at its deepest level.

 

Mask 2

 

The next mask on my list was GLAMGLOW Youthmud™ Tinglexfoliate Treatment. Now, the mud mask is a great option if you believe your mask experience isn’t truly worthwhile unless bits of leaves (and possibly twigs) are involved. This one promises to gently exfoliate your skin, shrink your pores and leave you with a youthful glow while supporting natural collagen synthesis. I’m not sure how youthful I looked afterwards, but I could definitely feel this mask doing its job! Like the charcoal mask, it absorbs impurities and tightens the longer you leave it on, but more importantly, your entire face will tingle and it feels like magic. If you’re into that.

 

Mask 3

I look like I got slimed on a Nickelodeon game show.

 

The last mask I tried was one I mixed myself–something I haven’t done since the slumber parties of yore. Unlike the others, this Avocado, Honey & Yogurt DIY Mask is incredibly moisturizing, something my skin desperately needs as the weather gets cooler and drier. Not only does it have supernatural hydrating powers, but the Vitamin C in the avocado brightens and the lactic acid in the yogurt acts as a mild exfoliant. Of all the masks I tried, I was surprised to find that this one had the most significant results. After smoothing the decadent mixture onto my face and letting it sit for about twenty minutes, my skin became insanely soft and much smoother than I expected. I couldn’t stop touching my face! Seriously, you guys have to try this one. Note: the recipe makes enough for at least three masks, so invite some girlfriends over and make a night of it!

Do you have a DIY beauty treatment you love? What about a face mask I need to try? I’d love to hear about it!

♥ Mil

3 responses

    • Totally agree, Origins is fab! And I haven’t tried Spa Sanctuary–I’ll have to add it to my list 🙂 Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

