Thanksgiving Favorites: Cheesy Mashed Potatoes

photo 2-2

Continuing our food theme this week, I’m excited to share the recipe for the most delicious mashed potatoes I have ever tasted. Unlike most of my cheese-centric recipes, this one doesn’t come from my grandmother, but from my dear friend, college roommate and fellow cheese-lover, Emie. (I just spent 20 minutes scrolling through my photos trying to find a pic of us eating cheese together, which somehow doesn’t exist. Emie, how is that possible?!)

Emie’s cheesy mashed potatoes are the stuff of legend. I first sampled them during a post-college Thanksgiving trip to visit her in Chicago, and they have haunted my dreams ever since. I demanded the recipe and have been recreating them myself every year. If you’re in need of a potato recipe for Thanksgiving this year, look no further!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Ingredients:

1 bag Yukon Gold potatoes (about 10 smallish potatoes)

2 tsp fresh crushed garlic

3/4 cup sour cream

A splash or two of milk

1 1/4 cups grated cheese (I like to use 1 cup smoked gouda and 1/4 cup cheddar)

Salt and pepper to taste

2 tbs finely chopped chives

Optional: bread crumbs and more grated cheese to sprinkle on top

After scrubbing the potatoes, chop them into thirds (basically just make sure the pieces are all approximately the same size so they will cook evenly).

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Boil them in very salty/peppery water (about a tablespoon of salt/pepper should do the trick). You should boil the potatoes until they’re cooked all the way through, so they almost fall apart when you stab them with a fork in the water. Transfer all the potatoes into a big mixing bowl and while they’re still steaming hot, add the sour cream. Use an electric mixer to blend them until they’re creamy, and add the splash or two of milk. Once you’ve achieved your desired consistency, add the grated cheese and garlic and mix again. Be sure to do these steps quickly; the potatoes must be hot when you add the cheese so it all blends together perfectly without being stringy or chunky. If the potatoes are hot enough, the cheese will melt into cream from the heat of the bowl, and that’s how they’re yummiest!

Add your chopped chives next, along with salt and pepper to taste, then blend some more.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

If you’re preparing the dish a day in advance, one tasty option is to sprinkle some breadcrumbs and additional cheese on top of the potatoes once you’ve transferred them to a casserole dish. Let it sit in the fridge overnight, and when you reheat in the oven the next day, the breadcrumbs and cheese will bake into a crispy, melty, mouthwatering crust.

Serve in martini glasses for added fanciness.

Serve in martini glasses for added fanciness.

 

This recipe serves about 5 people, but I plan to double it for my group this Thanksgiving in hopes of having some leftovers – they’re equally amazing reheated. I cannot wait! (Yes, I just made this batch for the blog yesterday and I’m already excited for the next round.) A big thank you to Emie for sharing her delicious recipe!

What dish are you most excited for this Thanksgiving?

♥ Mil

8 responses

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

