Fashion Face-off: Winter Accessories

We may be facing frigid temperatures and shorter days at this time of year, but one of the upsides of the winter season is the multitude of accessorizing options it provides. Opportunities abound for cozy scarves, chic gloves and all the beautiful boots you’ve kept crammed in your closet the rest of the year. Jules and I have very different styles, so we thought it’d be fun do a side-by-side comparison of our winter fashion picks! Where do you fall on the Mil-Jules style spectrum? (I can already tell you I want that sweet fedora Jules picked out…)

Fashion Face-off: Winter Accessories

 

 

Jules’ thoughts on her picks:

1. The biggest thing I consider when choosing winter wear is usefulness and functionality; that usually precedes style. I always want a heavy coat that actually keeps me warm, and this one from Columbia fits the bill. I have a similar one that I wear almost daily.

2. A classic fedora keeps your head warm without totally flattening your hair. I can barely handle styling it once, so I don’t want to have to do it again!

3. A pretty scarf adds a touch of femme style to the mix…I have two Echo scarves that I wear all the time and they are the best.

4. Black boots are a must and I have wide calves, so these are perfect!

5. I also love these waterproof boots for casual days and off-roading. They would be so cute with a plaid shirt.

6. And for a touch of whimsy with all that practicality, I like this edgy single stud earring from Catbird. What can I say, I like a little levity with my accessories!

Mil’s thoughts on her picks:

7. At this time of year I like to keep myself constantly cocooned in giant, cozy scarves like this one.

8. A cashmere hat with a furry pom is decadently soft and warm.

9. One of the best things about winter is getting to wear faux fur earmuffs. (Plus, they saved my life when I lived in Chicago. Without them, my ears definitely would have fallen off.)

10. Dreary Seattle winters can get you down after awhile, and a brightly colored wool peacoat combats wintry bleakness while keeping you warm.

11. Rain boots are a must in the Pacific Northwest, and these classic Hunter wellies are second to none (and they come in a rainbow of pretty colors)!

12. These cashmere and leather fingerless gloves are ladylike and a little bit badass; plus, they leave your fingertips free for texting.

13. I think we’d both enjoy wearing these BFF beanies, ideally while sledding and/or guzzling hot chocolate. Jules, I call dibs on the pink one!

What are your fave winter accessories? Do you have your eye on anything new this season?

♄ Mil

 

3 responses

  1. Love all of these picks but especially the waterproof boots and Columbia jacket — they are so practical! Let’s be honest, when the polar vortex swoops in, I’d rather be comfortable than fashionable! But luckily these are so chic!

