I’ve Got News!

My real life has been a little crazy this past month and a half and I’m excited to finally be able to share some big time news with y’all: Nick and I are moving back to Seattle!

My husband has his masters in opera performance, so he’s essentially a trained opera singer. He gave up pursuing a singing career to move to Helena and help his friend open the elementary at the local charter school (KIPP Delta). After a year as an elementary teacher he transitioned into the role of choir director and over the last four years has built an amazing choir program at all three schools (elementary, middle and high school). His students have performed at national conferences, fundraising banquets, and even Disney World. He loved his job, and his students and families loved him. We never thought we were going to leave, at least any time soon, until a contact of his at Seattle Opera reached out with a dream opportunity.

ashton kss

We are moving to Seattle so my husband can take on the role of Community Programs Manager with Seattle Opera. He will be traveling the region giving lectures on opera and basically encouraging others to appreciate and love the art form as much as he does.

Of course moving back to Seattle means I’ll be close to my family and long-time friends. This will be the first time Mil and I have lived in the same city since high school! Even though I’m leaving the south, the blog will live on. The only change being that we’ll have more of our adventures together, instead of apart.

For the last month now, we’ve been busy selling our homes (we have two!), cars, furniture, and appliances. Two weeks ago we had a huge yard sale where we ended up selling all our dressers and our washer and dryer. So we’ve been dragging our dirty clothes to friends’ houses and I’ve been getting dressed out of tupperware tubs.

We’ll be leaving Helena on December 23rd and will head to St. Louis to spend Christmas with my husband’s family. After that we’re roadtripping across the country with the dogs and our clothes in tow. I’ve made Nick let us take the drive a little easy, so we can see some things along the way. I’ll be sharing pictures along the way, so be sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram.

XOXO,
Jules

 

 

 

6 responses

  1. I didn’t realize you had already sold your washer/dryer, yikes! I’m glad you have friends who are willing to share theirs πŸ™‚

    PS I’m so excited I can barely sit still!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Pingback: New Year. New Goals. « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

Leave a Reply

