Friday Favorites

Guess what, lovely readers? My sister Kate is flying in tomorrow and she’s staying for two whole weeks! She lives approximately four million miles away (in Taipei) and I don’t get to see her very often, so I’m beyond thrilled that I get to celebrate the holidays with her this year. Between that and Jules moving back to Seattle later this month, I haven’t been this excited since I was a little kid on Christmas morning!

I’m pretty much bouncing off the walls with anticipation at this point, but here are a few of the links that are helping me pass the time until the glorious weekend begins…

friday faves 12.19

1. There’s a Danish concept called arbejdsglรฆde that means “happiness at work” –ย  sounds so much better than “work-life balance”, right? Here are five office policies that help explain why Danes are the happiest workers in the world. (fastcoexist.com)

2. One of my favorite winter pastimes is tubing at Snoqualmie Pass, and it’s definitely on the itinerary for Kate’s visit. (summitatsnoqualmie.com)

3. A writer for New York Magazine tried to replicate the antics of Kate Hudson in “How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days” in real life. It is hilarious. I smell a sequel! (nymag.com)

4. What does your signature drink say about you? Since the French 75 isn’t on this list, I’m aligning myself with the champagne drinkers. (refinery29.com)

5. It saddens me to say that I’ve only been to one of the seven secretest bars in Seattle, so I’m adding the remaining six to my vacation to-do list. (It’s important to have goals.) Who else is in? (thrillist.com)

Have an fabulously fun weekend!

โ™ฅ Mil

10 responses

  1. It sounds like you have an incredibly exciting holiday lined up! ๐Ÿ˜€
    How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days is one of my favourite movies ever!

    • Isn’t it the best? thanks for commenting, Millie! I’m sure I’ll be regaling you all with tales of our adventures ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I love your Friday favorite list and found all your links fun. I enjoyed the article on the Danish concept called arbejdsglรฆde. Where I work, we are focusing on the goal ” I like the work I do.” It seems we could learn some things from the Danes. How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days is one of my favorite movies and the article you shared was entertaining. The French 75 is also one of my favorite drinks, we have a lot in common. ๐Ÿ™‚ Lastly, I have heard a lot about these secret bars in Seattle but haven’t checked any out. Looks fun.

    Enjoy your time with your sister and have a great weekend!

    • Asa, it makes me unreasonably happy that you are also a fan of the French 75!! Love it. Perhaps we should schedule a blogger get-together at one of the secret bars in the New Year ๐Ÿ™‚ The How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days article made me laugh so hard…I’m glad you enjoyed it too. And it sounds like your workplace is on the right track! I like my job, but I think I could be quite content working in Denmark…

      Hope you’re having a fabulous weekend!

      • Hi Mil. I would love to have a blogger get-together in the New Year. Oh what fun! Lets connect on this idea soon.

        My weekend was good. Hope you’re having a blast with your sister. ๐Ÿ™‚

