Countdown to Christmas

snowflake lane

Bellevue’s own Snowflake Lane (image via the Huffington Post)

 

Two more days until Christmas! I’m taking a quick break from baking, shopping and frolicking around town with my visitors to say hello to you lovely people and give you a little glimpse into how I’m celebrating the holidays. Last night, my sister, her boyfriend and I all headed to Snowflake Lane in downtown Bellevue, a nightly spectacle with dancing toy soldiers, faux snow, musical performers, and a light show. It may be geared towards kids (you can get your picture taken with princesses, penguins, and snowmen), but that certainly didn’t stop us from dancing in the streets along with everyone else. (Fun fact: Snowflake Lane made the Huffington Post’s list of America’s quirkiest holiday traditions!)

Here are a few of my pics from Snowflake Lane, as well as the cheery holiday atmosphere over at my mom’s house. My family has been decorating & wrapping like crazy all weekend, and we are officially ready for Christmas to happen!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

snowflake 3

It’s just not Christmas without a penguin in a top hat! Kids were climbing trees to get a better look at the spectacle.

 

My sister Kate and her boyfriend Darren

My sister Kate and her boyfriend Darren

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I didn’t notice the guy in the middle of the crowd staring right at me until after I had taken this picture…!

 

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Homemade baked goods are always on hand through the month of December.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Getting all our wrapping done more than two hours before Christmas was a major triumph.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Spiked hot chocolate by the tree is a proud tradition at my house.

 

What are you guys up to for the holidays? Jules and I will be taking a little break from the blog between Christmas and New Year’s to unwind with our families and eat an unseemly amount of Christmas cookies (and in Jules’ case, road trip across the country), but we’ll be back before you know it! Until we return in 2015, you can follow along with our shenanigans on Instagram (I’m here and Jules is here).

Wishing you the happiest of holidays with the people you love, and cheers to a fabulous New Year!

β™₯ Mil

P.S. Check in tomorrow for a guest post from Jules’ good friend Mollie!

12 responses

    • Thanks so much Mel! I’m so sorry you have to work all week though–what a bummer 😦 I hope you have a lovely holiday despite having to work!

  1. Omg! You’re so brave to venture out to Snowflake Lane. My husband and I drove through it once unknowingly and it was a nightmare from all the traffic. Ever since then we have sworn off Bellevue during the holidays. Lol!

    Looks like you had a nice holiday. I enjoyed seeing all your personal photos and also hearing that I wasn’t the only one doing last minute gift wrapping! πŸ˜„

    • Aw, don’t be afraid! It’s so much fun! As long as you avoid driving near the mall right before 7 (when it starts) you should be fine πŸ™‚

      I did have a nice holiday, though it was much more hectic than anticipated. I hope you had a wonderful time celebrating with your family! xo Mil

