2015 Trends – Easy Ways to Add Them Into Your Wardrobe

At the beginning of every year, magazines and blogs always come out with their lists of the top new fashion trends based on whatever recently hit the runway. I’m actually kind of a sucker for fashion show coverage. I particularly enjoy seeing the beauty and styling choices made by each fashion house. Mostly because every year someone makes at decision like this.

In the most recent Spring/Summer 2015 shows, common themes included: bold floral prints (I love you Micheal Kors), seventies influenced styles including “tasteful” bell-bottoms (flashback to my middle school years), strong striped patterns, suede everything, gingham prints, and obi belts (a high fashion take on your little brother’s karate outfit). Clearly I like some better than others. Below are the four I hope to incorporate into my spring wardrobe.

2015trends

I find that keeping up with yearly trends is a balancing act. I want a couple items that look “trendy”, but don’t want to spend a ton of money. I also don’t want to end up with a bunch of clothing that looks out dated in six months to a year – the life time of a trend is often unpredictable. Take leggings, those came back in years ago and they seem to be here for good. Overall shorts however, were a flash in the pan – for obvious reasons…

One of my strategies is to start with accessories. They are affordable, easy to incorporate into an existing wardrobe of basics, and just as easy to get rid of. Plus, adding a bold accessory to my outfits keeps me on trend without looking like I’m trying too hard. You know, like this.

I pulled together some picks for my four favorite style trends for Spring/Summer. Most are very reasonably priced, with a few splurges thrown in here and there. My husband and I are in the process of selling our house, and when we finally close I am thinking about buying myself a celebratory present. The black gingham Marc Jacobs purse is on my list. Although I also want an island for my kitchen. Decisions, decisions…

floralcollage

  Steve Madden high heel shoes / Cole Haan flat shoes / Wrap shawl / BCBGMAXAZRIA scarf / MARC BY MARC JACOBS travel bag

statementstripescollage

Striped knee socks / Alice + Olivia cushioned shoes / Keds metallic sneaker / Kate Spade striped purse / Tory Burch striped scarf / Isaac Mizrahi red iphone case

SuedeTOMS black oxford / Sole Society suede booties / Topshop purple handbag / AGNELLE leather glove / Forever 21 bow hair clip

ginghamcollage

Keds white shoes / MARC BY MARC JACOBS black purse / Tory Burch wallet / Charlotte Russe round scarf / Brooks Brothers Gingham Boat Shoes

What trends are you excited about this year? Do you have any tricks for incorporating seasonal styles into your wardrobe? Would you wear the obi belt?

XOXO,
Jules

Collage image sources: 1/2/3/4

8 responses

  1. I’m excited to wear bold floral in the spring! Definitely looking forward to floral shoes and scarves like the ones you picked 🙂

    By the way, the nail polish color I was wearing in my last post was Sally Hansen’s Triple Shine Red Snapper 230. It’s super easy and quick to put on too!

    Tina
    http://www.justatinabit.com

  2. This post is so well written. I felt like I was reading a magazine! I like how you focused on accessories instead of buying an entire outfit.

    I’m most excited for florals, stripes and gingham. These are classic, and should always be in style. 😀

