Snack Attack: Avocado Toast

photo(29)

It’s no secret that when it comes to cooking for just myself, I can be a little lazy. I definitely don’t plan out all my meals for the week like Jules does (unless you count scheduling happy hours as meal planning), and I frequently come home with the intention of cooking only to find my fridge sadly devoid of anything that could be magically transformed into a meal. (Come on, grocery shopping elves, get your act together!)

Likewise, I’m a spontaneous snacker. I’ll go for whatever’s easy to grab and takes minimal effort, like chips or yogurt. Boring, right? So the other night when I wandered into my kitchen looking for a snack, I spent several long minutes staring at my stash of avocados and wishing I had a live-in guacamole chef at my disposal…then after reality set in, I hit the Pinterest boards looking for an easy avocado recipe. Immediately a wave of results for avocado toast appeared, and I wondered why I had never thought of this. I love toast. I love avocados. It made perfect, glorious sense! I combined the most appealing parts of several recipes based on what I happened to have on hand, and the result was delicious perfection.

photo 1(8)

Here’s what you’ll need for the easiest, tastiest snack ever:

1/2 a ripe avocado

2 slices whole grain toast

1 clove garlic

Olive oil

Paprika

Sea salt

Freshly ground black pepper

A little lemon juice (all you really need is a slice’s worth)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Combine the avocado in a small bowl with a few drops of lemon juice and add salt, pepper and paprika to taste. Blend until creamy (unless you prefer it chunky–then go for it, girl)!

Next, toast your bread and coat one side lightly with olive oil. Then cut your clove of garlic in half and rub it all over the toast.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Finally, spread a generous helping of avocado all over your toast and drizzle with olive oil. Then sprinkle on a little extra paprika, salt and pepper. And maybe some more lemon juice too. I mean, why not?

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

And there you have it – a delicious, healthy snack that’s beyond easy to make! I know I’m super late to the party on this one, but now that I’m on board, avocado toast is going to be a permanent fixture in my life.

What’s your favorite simple snack?

♥ Mil

5 responses

    • It’s so delicious–and so easy! I’ve made it the past three nights in a row (I may be addicted). Thanks for commenting!

  1. Pingback: 6 Avocado Recipes That Aren’t Avocado Toast « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

