This Valentine’s Day, Give the Gift of Time

gift of timeValentine’s Day is quickly approaching. Now that you have your cards picked out, thanks to Mil, I thought I’d weigh in on gift giving.

I’m pretty sure Valentine’s Day is the third most commercial holiday, after Christmas and Halloween. Now that it’s less than a week before the big day, the retail industry is starting to hit us hard with commercials and displays hawking expensive heart-shaped jewelry, giant bouquets of roses, and chocolate as symbols of our undying love and devotion. I can barely step into my local Walgreens without being hit in the face (sometimes literally) with shiny helium balloons and overstuffed pink teddy bears. While gifts can certainly be incredibly special, this year’s round of splashy ads has gotten me thinking more about this holiday, and how I share and show my love.

In this day and age of smartphones, ipads, video games, and laptops, it’s become easy to spend time next to your loved ones without spending time with them. The husband and I frequently sit next to each other on our couch separately engaged in skimming Facebook or catching up on blogs. It’s become normal to see a family sitting silently at a restaurant, occupied by their phones while they wait for their meal.

With this in the back of my mind, this year the most meaningful gift I can think of giving is simply spending purposeful time together. Setting aside the phones, turning off the TV, and going on a proper old fashioned date. As I’ve grown older, I’ve come to realize that I prefer doing things with (or for) my loved ones. After all, nothing says “I love you” like actually wanting to spend time together!

This Saturday, the husband and I aren’t able to do anything special, so I’ve been keeping track of a few fun date ideas for the hopefully near future. Here are a few from my list:
.

1.  Making our own brie. I won’t be able to eat any of it, but baby, that’s love. 

brie

2. Venturing out to the Chainsaw Carving School to pick up something fun. I’m thinking a giant gnome statue? 

chainsaw carving

3. Brewing our own beer at Gallaghers’ Where U Brew. I know we could just do it at home, but this seems more fun! 

gallaghers

4. Co-dominating a Tough Mudder race. If we can survive this together, we can survive anything! 

toughmudder

.

Don’t these sound fun?! Maybe some more than others…. I just can’t wait to be old and grey, surrounded by goofy photos of us soaked in mud or squeezing cheese curds. I’d much rather have a house full of crazy pictures and mementos than heart-shaped diamond pendants. Granted, I lose things constantly, so even if Nick gave me a necklace every year, we’d never have a houseful!

Of course I still believe that gifts can be meaningful and memorable, and I certainly still like receiving them! Quality of time is just how I like to share my love for my husband, my family, and my friends.

How do you like to show and share your love? What are you doing this Valentine’s Day?

XOXO,
Jules

.

.

Photo sources: 1/2/3/4

7 responses

  1. Yum, sign me up for the homemade brie! The Tough Mudder race, on the other hand, looks like my worst nightmares come to life…but I will happily take pictures of you and Nick if you decide to participate 🙂

  2. We are making cupcakes together. It will be a whole family affair! The beer brewing looks really cool! I did buy a gift for my hubby. I bought him a bag of cheddar and sour cream Ruffles because I never let him have them.

Leave a Reply

