Love Your Leftovers: Parsley Pesto

Loveyourleftoverspesto

If you’re anything like me, you buy a bunch of herbs for a recipe, and then end up with 3/4 a bunch of herbs wilting in the back of your fridge. It drives me nuts! I hate wasting anything, so over the years I’ve played around with a few different ways to use them up.

The first time I made this pesto was after Thanksgiving a few years ago. I was craving a simple pasta meal and wanted to whip up some pesto, but didn’t have any basil in the fridge. I did however have parsley leftover from making the stuffing, so I figured I’d try throwing it in instead. Well, it turned out great – a little brighter and fresher than the traditional basil based version. It’s a recipe that I continue to use on the regular, especially after dinner parties.

 

Ingredients for parsley pesto

Start by gathering your ingredients: 2 cups parsley, 3 cloves garlic, 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, 1/3 cup toasted walnuts, olive oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper. Instagramming them is optional.

 

parsley pesto recipe

Throw everything into the food processor except the olive oil, and then pulse to combine. While the food processor is running, slowly drizzle the olive oil in to incorporate. Blend until smooth and then it’s ready to use.

.

Parsley Pesto
(Makes about 2 cups)

3/4 bunch of flat leaf parsley (approximately 2 cups)
3 cloves garlic
1/3 cup toasted walnuts
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
2 tbsp lemon juice
1/2-2/3 cup olive oil
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
More salt and pepper as needed
.

Directions: Add the parsley, garlic, walnuts, cheese, salt, pepper, and lemon juice to a food processor and pulse to combine. Then, with the processor running, drizzle in the olive oil until everything is incorporated and smooth. Serve immediately as a sauce on pasta, veggies, chicken, or whatever! Or store in the fridge in a covered container for up to 5 days.

Do you have tricks for using up extra herbs? I always make lots of pico de gallo when we have extra cilantro!

.
XOXO,
Jules

