Oscar Inspired Outfits

Now that we’ve covered the appetizers and the cocktails, the last piece in the Oscar party puzzle is the outfit! I thought it’d be fun to pull together a few outfits inspired by characters in this year’s Oscar-nominated films. The key to a good ensemble is to balance accuracy with wearability. You want to look enough like the character to be recognizable, but should also feel cute and comfortable hanging out in it all night. Here’s my version of toeing that line with Fletcher from “Whiplash,” Cheryl from “Wild,” and Sam from “Birdman.”

 

Dress like Fletcher from Whiplash

In “Whiplash,” J.K. Simmons plays Terrance Fletcher, an aggressive and driven band director. He spends most of the movie in the classic musician uniform of black on black. I thought this comfy black v-neck tee combined with a modern cut blazer, skinny black jeans, and a “rock” necklace created a female version of Fletcher’s look. I was tempted to finish it off with black Converses, but jazz musicans are little classier than that, so kitten heels it is! (Image source)

 

 

Dress like Cheryl from Wild

Reese Witherspoon plays Cheryl Strayed in “Wild,” spending most of the film walking up and down mountains in scruffy clothes and boots. My version of hiker chic involves the classic plaid and khaki combo, just with nicer cuts and materials than what I’d actually wear on the trail. Current Elliott plaid shirt + Grey t-shirt + Zara khaki pants + Smartwool socks + Free People boots = Cheryl, the hiking hottie. (Image source)

 

 

Dress like Sam from Birdman

                 

In “Birdman,” Sam is the daughter to washed-up actor Riggan Thomson. She is a former drug addict with a leaning towards to the punk end of the fashion spectrum. I think the classic combination of black shirt, plaid skirt, fishnet stockings, and Dr. Martens does the trick nicely. I just love this Madewell plaid skirt, as it can easily be dressed up and down. Punk today, preppy tomorrow. (Image source)

 

This year, I think I’m going to let Cheryl Strayed inspire me, mostly because I wear my hiking socks on the regular anyway. If you could dress-up like a character in any of this year’s nominated films, who would you choose?

.

XOXO,
Jules

2 responses

  1. To complete the look, don’t forget Cheryl’s bloody toenail 😉

    I’d have to pick Keira Knightley in the Imitation Game. Retro 1940’s chic is my jam!

  2. Pingback: Friday Favorites « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

