Giving Up Sugar – An Update

The other day we went out to brunch with Asa, from Lace and Pearls, and she asked how I was doing with my “no sugar thing.” So, I thought I’d share a brief update.

About three months ago I made the commitment to seriously lower my intake of sugar and simple carbohydrates. I knew that making this change before the holidays would be hard, but I was optimistic. I’m generally a strong and determined woman. Well here’s how I spent my Christmas vacation:

.

elfgif

.

After Christmas, I did a pretty good job of getting back on track. On our road-trip across the country, I stocked the car with plenty of healthy snacks and made sure we ate at restaurants with good options. Hello hummus and carrots!

Unfortunately,ย when we got to Seattle, I had yet another “set-back.” We spent a couple weeks with my friend’s mom, who I love like family, but who also happens to love chocolate just as much as I do. It was like putting an alcoholic in a bar serving free booze. Seriously, it was that bad.

We have now been in our new home for about a month and I’m feeling good about having more control over the choices I’m making. I’ve been planning our meals around fresh veggies and proteins, and have been making lots of homemade snacks. Larabars are so easy to make (fake) at home! While I’m still having bites of coconut ice cream here and there, overall my sugar intake is much lower.

My biggest struggle is not throwing-in the towel after I’ve consumed several bags of peanut M&M’s for dinner, as that’s my gut reaction. Once I’ve started to slip, I often feel like it’s the point of no return, and I might as well go nuts. I’m working on it, and I’m slowly getting better. I am also getting better at forgiving myself when I make mistakes. Although I’m not sure if eating half a cake constitutes a mistake… Anyway, it’s the small victories!

.

Motivational Quote: Small Actions are Steps in the Right Direction

.

Here’s to constantly improving! Have you been sticking to your resolutions this year?

XOXO,
Jules

Photo sources: 1/2

11 responses

  1. You’re doing awesome (and about a million times better than I would be)!! As you know, my resolution to cook more is a colossal failure so far. But I have been spending less in general, so that’s a victory…

  2. Thanks for the shout out Jules! Great update. My takeaway is the forgiveness element. Such an optimistic approach, I love it. It also helps me stay on track with my own goals. Good job on all you’ve accomplished, you’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

