Amazeballs!

Amaze Balls chocolate energy bites

I am a snacker. I would rather eat six small meals a day than three square ones. As such, I’m always on the hunt for portable and healthy snacks, preferably without too much sugar. I am not fun on a sugar crash, just ask Mil or my husband! One of my favorite bloggers, The Fitnessista, has introduced me to several of my go-to recipes. One of my all time favorites are her Amazeballs, which over the years I have tweaked to my own personal tastes. (Read: I added more chocolate.)

Here is my recipe for a delicious, easy, and healthy snack on the go. Little balls of energy that are, well, pretty amazing!

Chocolate Amazeballs
(inspired by The Fitnessista)

6 Tbl chocolate (or vanilla) protein powder
6 Tbl almond butter
8 Tbl unsweetened shredded coconut
1 Rounded tsp cocoa powder
2 Tbl honey (add more to taste)
1/2 Tsp vanilla extract
1 Ounce unsweetened chocolate
Pinch of cinnamon
Pinch of sea salt

.

Directions:

amazeballs ingredients almond butter cinnamon cocoa

Gather up your goodies. This recipe is super quick and easy if you have all of your ingredients ready to go. On a side note, please ignore my dirty kitchen window. I will get around to cleaning it one of these days.

 . 

Amazeballs chocolate energy bites

Combine the first three ingredients in a food processor and pulse to combine. Add everything else in except the chocolate and pulse again. The mixer should start clumping together. Adjust your wet and dry ingredients if needed until you reach the texture shown above. Then add in the ounce of chocolate, breaking it up a couple of times before throwing it into the food processor. Pulse a few more times until the chocolate is chopped up and well distributed. Taste the “dough” and add any additional sweetener if needed.

 . 

Amazeballs gluten free chocolate snack

Once you are satisfied, use your hands to roll the mixture into amazing balls of deliciousness. I like mine to be big enough to really satisfy me, so my balls are about the size of a standard meatball. Store in a sealed container in the fridge. They won’t last long!

.

These would be great to keep at work or to toss into your lunch. I’ve only made the chocolate flavor, as I never get sick out it, but it’d be fun to try a few different variations. PB&J maybe?

XOXO,
Jules

9 responses

  1. This does look amazeballs! I definitely like stuff I can eat with one hand (because there’s usually a little munchkin in the other hand…) so I’ll try these out soon!

  2. These look delicious. I use to make some similar but they weren’t chocolate flavored and contained oats. Chocolate chips were also included. 🙂

