7 Delicious Salads That Are Anything But Dull

As I’ve shared before, I love a good salad. The funny thing though is that I recently realized that as much as I love them, I don’t eat that many lettuce or vegetable based salads at home. I make a lot of grain and pasta salads, but we don’t have a green salad with dinner all that often. I guess it’s because I have a hard time getting creative with a lettuce base. I’ll add some tomatoes, red onion, maybe some cranberries, and it’s enjoyable…just kind of boring.

We had some people over last night and I thought it was the perfect opportunity to break out of my salad rut. We decided to serve tacos, so I came up with a chipotle broccoli slaw with pineapple that turned out amazing. It was sweet, salty, and spicy – the trifecta of flavors. Plus it was so easy!

I started by grating three stems of broccoli, 1/4 red cabbage, and two small carrots. I mixed those together with 1/3 cup corn, 1/2 cup pineapple, 1/4 cup chopped red onion, and a small handful of chopped cilantro. I then made a quick dressing using the juice of one lime, 1 teaspoon chipotle powder, 1 clove garlic chopped, 1/4 cup white wine vinegar, and salt and pepper to taste. It took me all of ten minutes to grate and mix everything, and everyone raved about it.

 

pineapple chipotle broccoli slaw

Chipotle Broccoli Slaw with Pineapple

 .

After last night’s salad win, I’m all about keeping my streak going. Here are some other salads I’m planning to try out next time I feel like getting fancy in the kitchen. The nice thing is, most of these recipes don’t require that much work, so we can feel like we’re having a special dish with dinner without too much extra special effort.

 

 .

 

  . 

  . 

.

XOXO,
Jules

5 responses

