New Hair on the Horizon

The other day I was on the phone with a client and they mentioned having looked up my company headshot online. I actually hadn’t seen it, so I went and looked it up myself. The first thing I noticed was my hair. It has really grown out and has reached that point where it’s basically shapeless. It still looks healthy, it’s just blah. Time for a haircut!

Julia Malinowski Porch.com

.

When it comes to haircuts, I typically go through a cycle of two different styles. I cut it into an inverted bob, grow that out until it’s long, and then repeat. At this point, it’s probably been close to a year since I’ve cut my hair, so I’m itching to cut it short, or at least mix it up.

I’ve been wavering between a few different styles, and I thought it’d be fun if you helped me decide.

 

Option 1: Stick with my usual basic bob

Basic bob hairstyle

 

Option 2: Add ombre balayage highlights
My hair is dark and straight, so it can be difficult for me to keep a bob from looking blah without daily styling. Getting highlights would hopefully help modernize my look with limited effort.

Bob with ombre highlights

 

Bob with ombre balayage highlights

 

Option 3: Add bangs, either full or side swept
I had side swept bangs for years, but grew them out for our wedding. Lately I’ve been missing them. I know full bangs require a lot of work, but they’re just so cute on other girls!

Bob with full bangs - John Barrett

 

Option 4: Keep my hair long and add bangs
I know with summer approaching, I’ll probably want to lose the length. But I know I’m going to miss curling my hair every now and then and swinging it around as I walk.

Long hair with side bangs - Keiko Lynn

 

So what do you think? Advise carefully, as my hair is in your hands! After writing this post, I think I’m leaning heavily towards Option 2.

XOXO,
Jules

 

 

Image sources: 1/2/3/4/5

8 responses

  1. I love the photo just before option 3 – it’s so textured and light looking & the colour is lovely!!! Good luck choosing your new hair do Jules – can’t wait to see it πŸ™‚ XXX

Leave a Reply

