Beauty Buzzwords: Rosewater

Beauty Ingredients to Know: Rosewater

When I was in high school, my family hosted a French exchange student for several weeks, and every day she would apply pure rosewater to her face to tone and moisturize. I was impressed. I was deep into my beauty obsession already, but this struck me as such an elegant, ladylike ritual. I was not-so-secretly delighted when our French guest forgot to pack the rosewater bottle at the end of her visit…

Made from rose petals steeped in boiling water, rosewater has been a beauty staple for centuries. In ancient Egypt, it was used to moisturize and tighten the pores (and Cleopatra was rumored to bathe in it); in India, it was traditionally used as perfume. Though rosewater has been a popular ingredient in beauty products for ages, lately it seems to be enjoying a resurgence.

 

Beauty Buzzwords: Rosewater

one / two / three / four / five

 

In its pure, distilled form, rosewater benefits every skin type. It hydrates dry skin, reduces oiliness, and works to reduce signs of aging. It even has anti-bacterial and anti-inflammatory properties to soothe sensitive or irritated skin – a spritz or two of a rosewater-based facial mist will refresh your face and help maintain your natural pH balance. In the summer, keep a bottle of this in the fridge and mist yourself with it from time to time. It feels fantastic, especially if you’ve gotten a little bit of sunburn!

In addition to all of that awesomeness, rosewater is gentle and soothing enough to be an ideal component of eye makeup remover. It also nourishes the skin with natural antioxidants and vitamins, making it a useful element in facial treatments and serums. Basically, it’s an all-star beauty product. Move over, argan oil!

Have you tried rosewater, either by itself or in other beauty products? Are you a fan?

β™₯ Mil

 

Image source

6 responses

  1. Oh and the smell is divine! I have just ordered another rosewater toner by Melvita, can’t wait to try it. the Lush Eau Roma toner combines rosewater with lavender, works very nicely as well πŸ˜€
    Do you have any favorite brands?
    xxx Anne

    • Ooh, I actually LOVE the Lush Eau Roma toner! I don’t know why I left it out of this roundup – I must associate it more with lavender. But you are right, it is absolutely wonderful!! I also really like the Jurlique Rosewater Balancing Mist. So refreshing πŸ™‚

      • The lavender is strong in the lush version πŸ™‚
        I actually rather dislike lavender, but I can manage if combined with rose:)
        I have heard great stuff about Jurlique, must look into that next πŸ˜€
        xxx Anne

      • Yes definitely! It’s a lovely brand – their stuff is all natural and botanical-based (I believe…)

