The Beauty Brief

The Beauty Brief

Good morning, fellow beauty lovers! I always love writing the Beauty Brief; I would be quite content to babble on about makeup and hair products all day long if no one stopped me. So I hope you’re excited to hear all about my latest finds! My beauty haul was truly bountiful this month, and there are a few products in particular that I can’t wait to share with you…

The Beauty Brief // via South by Northwest

Are you guys familiar with R+Co? My hairstylist introduced me to R+Co Mannequin Styling Paste recently and it is awesome for achieving that slightly messy, sexy bedhead look. I like to smooth a nickel-sized dollop between my fingers and scrunch it throughout my hair – it works especially well if you’ve just curled your hair and you need a little extra texture, body and/or hold. Be sure not to brush it out or you will undo the magic!

The Beauty Brief // via South by Northwest

French beauty brand Nuxe hasn’t been available at Sephora in years, so I was delighted to discover that it’s now sold at Target! I immediately stocked up on some old favorites as well as grabbing something new to try: Crème Fraiche de Beauté Enrichie, an intensive moisturizing cream. Many heavy-duty moisturizers are too rich for sensitive skin, but this luxurious blend of macadamia oil, shea butter and orange flower is incredibly soothing as well as hydrating. Plus, it’s made almost entirely from natural ingredients. It has a pretty strong neroli-esque scent (if that bothers you), but I love it.

The Beauty Brief // via South by Northwest

I have a fairly sizable lipstick collection, but I have to admit, Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Volupté Shine is something special. It’s chock full of fruit extracts, vitamins, and hyaluronic acid to help hydrate and seal in moisture, making it a real treat for your lips. But it’s so much more than a pretty balm substitute; color starts off sheer and glossy, but is easily buildable to achieve a rich, highly pigmented shade (my favorite is Devotion, a bright hibiscus pink). And have you ever seen a more glamorous lipstick tube? It looks like something Ava Gardner might have had on her vanity.

What beauty products are you loving right now? Are you on the hunt for anything in particular?

♥ Mil

9 responses

  1. How did you know I was a beauty lover ;). And I have to try that lipstick. I have been hearing about it but haven’t gotten around to purchasing. Now that you have it posted, I know I have to purchase it. And I definitely have to try out that face cream as well. Another Target run lol. I hope to see you at my new blog next week.

    Kay of Pure & Complex
    http://www.purecomplex.com

    • They are both fabulous, you won’t regret it! And since the face cream is from Target, I tell myself it’s a steal (even though it costs like $30, ha!) Basically I am a master of shopping justifications…and of course, I’m so excited to see House of KTS! I will be there 🙂

Leave a Reply

