Mother’s Day Gift Guide for Stylish and Sassy Young Moms

I feel like this is a week of confessions, because I have another. There was definitely a time when I threw all moms into a certain category: less stylish, less fun, older… Basically in my mind, all moms were just like my mom (sorry mom). Granted this was back in high school and college, when marriage and children were not even close to being on my radar.

Fast forward about 8 years…these days almost half of my friends are new moms and as a result my perspective has drastically changed. While motherhood is a huge part of my friends’ lives, it certainly does not define them. It doesn’t define the clothes they wear, hasn’t dulled their other interests or passions, and hasn’t affected our friendships.

My friend Misti, a brand new mom as of last Saturday, launched a brand new furniture company six months into her pregnancy. My friend Meredith, a recent mother to a beautiful baby girl, has a wildly successful freelance PR business and blogs on the side (here). While motherhood has certainly forced her to relinquish much of her sleep, she has not lost an ounce of her sass or style.
.

mothers day gift guide young mom

The lovely Mer with her husband Josh and their baby Eleanor (source)

.
With Mother’s Day coming up, I’ve been looking at the traditional gifts and have wondered were my mom friends fit in. Everyone loves flowers or being taken out to brunch, but a lot of the gifts I’ve seen just don’t seem like them – fun and full of life. So I spent some time pulling together gifts I would genuinely want to send to any one of my lady friends. Gift that don’t imply that life as a mom means that mom jeans are looming in the near future.

.

Mothers Day Gift Guide for New Moms

Faux turquoise necklace that’s baby friendly, $15

.

.

Mothers Day Gift Guide Young Mom

Organic body oil to relax and pamper her, without worries about irritating the baby’s skin, $25

.

Mothers Day Gift Guide Young Mom

Mama bear necklace, because she’s been fiercely loyal friend and is now a fiercely protective mother, $39

Mothers Day Gift Guide Young Mom

Guide to the fashion capitals of the world, $60. It’s never to early to start planning the first of many “mommy vacations.”

.

mothers day gift guide young mom

Silicone wine glasses, because every mom needs a little something every now and then, and they’re classier than a sippy cup, $20.

.

mothers day gift guide new mom

A fun travel mug, to help her power through those early morning hours, $14

.

Mothers Day Gift Guide for Young Moms

A book to make both you and her laugh, $13

.

XOXO,
Jules

4 responses

  1. This cracked me up because since I’m still not thinking about marriage or having kids, I have this idea in my head that when those things happen to me I’ll become everything I’ve spent my young adulthood dreading!

