6 DIY Ideas for Beauty Storage

6 DIY Ideas for Beauty Storage // via South by Northwest

I’m lucky to have a relatively large bathroom in my current apartment, but my monstrous collection of makeup, nail polish and hair products tends to make the space seem smaller than it actually is. If I were to let it all run free and wild, not a speck of the counter would be visible. Fortunately for us all, the internet exists, and it contains a multitude of beauty storage solutions. I’m not terribly crafty, but these DIY ideas are totally worth the effort. Let’s get organized!

Hanging Beauty Baskets

6 DIY Ideas for Beauty Storage // via South by Northwest

Even if your bathroom is tiny, chances are you have some unused wall space. These hanging beauty baskets are perfect for stashing styling tools, brushes and hairsprays.

Mason Jar Wall Organizer

6 DIY Ideas for Beauty Storage // via South by Northwest

Mason jars are admittedly everywhere these days, but this wall organizer cannot be denied. It’s total rustic chic, and manages to make even cotton balls look appealing.

Floral Medicine Cabinet Magnets

6 DIY Ideas for Beauty Storage // via South by Northwest

Maximize your medicine cabinet space with these adorable floral magnets! All you need is a little bit of fabric, some glue, and a few magnets (obvi).

Frame Shelving

6 DIY Ideas for Beauty Storage // South by Northwest

Much cuter than your average shelving, no? A vintage shadowbox frame would be perfect for this project, but you could use pretty much any large frame as a starting point.

Diptyque Candle Jar

6 DIY Ideas for Beauty Storage // via South by Northwest

Diptyque candle jars (and so many others!) are far too beautiful to throw away after the actual candle is finished burning. Learn how to remove all traces of wax so your candle jar is good as new and ready for a second life as a makeup brush holder.

Nail Polish Shelving

6 DIY Ideas for Beauty Storage // via South by Northwest

The saddest part of having a massive nail polish collection is not being able to see all of your shades at once. (Am I right, fellow nail polish hoarders?) So who wouldn’t love a salon-style wall of nail polish shelves? This particular project may be a little beyond my DIY inclinations, but you can buy something similar at IKEA.

What are some of your beauty storage hacks? Share your tips in the comments!

β™₯ Mil

Image sources: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6

8 responses

  1. The frame storage and nail varnish shelves are my favourite! Definitely options I would highly consider

    • I love them too! Especially the nail polish shelves…I could really, really use those πŸ˜‰

  2. I use the candle trick all the time. Especially with the best candle jars :). And I also have magnets that work beautifully. Girls, this was such a great list. I am also loving the style of this blog post.

    K / The House of KTS (formerly of Pure & Complex)
    http://www.houseofkts.com

    • Thanks, Kay! I’m so glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚ The candle trick is my favorite too. I can’t bring myself to toss those pretty jars!

    • Thanks, Jackie! I admit I’m easily daunted when it comes to DIY, but most of those seem totally doable πŸ™‚

