7 Ways to Dress Up a Small Deck

7 Ways to Dress Up a Small Deck

With the weather getting warmer, I’m seriously tempted to spend all my time lounging in the sunshine instead of cooped up indoors. I could grab a beach blanket and head to the park, but sometimes two blocks is farther than you want to walk, am I right? (Especially when you don’t feel like changing out of your PJs.) So it occurred to me that I should spruce up my deck, small though it may be! Urban living has its perks, but a surplus of square footage usually isn’t one of them. Right now all I’ve got out there is a tiny table and a couple of dusty chairs, so I went in search of inspiration…

7 Ways to Dress Up a Small Deck

A wall-mounted umbrella and lantern lights are fun and functional while taking up zero floor space

 

7 Ways to Dress Up a Small Deck

Even the tiniest balcony will accommodate floor cushions and plants on the wall

 

7 Ways to Dress Up a Small Deck

Hot pink bistro furniture and a striped rug will give your space instant personality

 

7 Ways to Dress Up a Small Deck

A hammock + a generous smattering of pillows = instant comfiness

 

7 Ways to Dress Up a Small Deck

This outdoor sectional with colorful pillows has got to be the coziest balcony setup ever

 

7 Ways to Dress Up a Small Deck

But as long as you can fit a tiny table and chair out there, you’re pretty much set

 

7 Ways to Dress Up a Small Deck

How adorable is this hanging chair (and that disco ball votive)?

 

As you can see, just because a deck lacks square footage doesn’t mean it can’t be a stylish and inviting hangout spot! I think a colorful patterned rug, lantern lights and some comfy pillows are in my future. How would you decorate your small outdoor space?

♥ Mil

 

Image sources: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 / 7

13 responses

    • Thanks, Kiki! I’m so glad you enjoyed this post 🙂 And I am in love with that sectional too! Sadly it rains too much here for that to be practical for me…

    • I’m so glad it inspired you! I really want to step it up a notch myself…it’s supposed to hit 80 later this week so that might be the perfect motivation 🙂

  1. Looks like we had the same idea! Oh Seattle with your tiny balconies. I love your picks. I’ll take one, two, four, and five for myself, thanks. I also love that you’re attracted to such bright colors. 🙂

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed them, Julia! Ah yes, I’m a sucker for bright colors 🙂 They just make everything more fun!

Leave a Reply

