Weekend Adventures: Olympic National Park

moss (1)

This weekend, Nick and I went camping in Olympic National Park, close to Washington’s coast. After a couple weeks of nonstop hustling, it felt so good to disconnect from everything: work, technology, chores. The weather was perfect and the scenery was gorgeous. I thought it’d be fun to share some pictures from our trip. If you’re ever in the area, the Olympics are a must stop.
.

dawn

The view of Lake Quinault from our campsite at Willaby Campground.

.

rain forest trail (1)

We were situated right in the middle of the Quinault Rainforest, which I had never been to before. I originally thought we were going to be in the Hoh Rainforest, which is further north. On Saturday, we took a long hike starting with this trail. Apparently we missed seeing a black bear by a 1/2 mile. Thank goodness we missed it. I probably would have hyperventilated and done everything you’re not supposed to do.

.

tree

The old-growth trees were incredible. I loved trying to identify the trees by their bark. I’m a nerd, but that should be no surprise by now.

.

dogs in river

Hanging out in Falls Creek with the doggies. Saturday’s 8-mile hike wore them out.

.

lake quinault

The best part of the trip was hanging out lakeside, soaking in the sun and reading our books.

.

beach

On the way home we drove out to Pacific Beach State Park. Even in the afternoon, the fog was so thick it was hard to see the water’s edge.

.
Do you ever take camping trips or are you more of a city traveler? I used to always gravitate towards exploring cities, but as I’ve gotten older I’ve found that camping and exploring rural areas is more relaxing to me.
.
XOXO,
Jules

13 responses

  1. Looks like you guys had a lot of fun! We just returned from a camping trip at Kalaloch Beach in the Olympic National Forest. It is so beautiful there. I’ve yet to visit the Hoh Rainforest, but it’s definitely on my list. ~Veronica

  2. This looks amazing! I will have to add it to my list of areas to check out. I also find myself being more interested in exploring nature nowadays than cities, my husband teases me that I am turning into an old lady!

  3. Girl, can you believe I’ve never gone camping? I just can’t get over not having a bathroom lol. Don’t laugh at me. I will, however, go camping if I could have a winni with me to use a bathroom lol. I would definitely do that. Great post and photos. You look so happy and so relaxed.

    Kia / The House of KTS
    http://www.houseofkts.com

  4. The Olympic National Park looks stunning. I haven’t been camping since I was a kid. I’m kinda tempted to give it another go.

Leave a Reply

