Friday Favorites

Happy Friday, friends! This weekend Mil and I are celebrating the summer solstice at the annual Fremont Solstice Fair and Parade. If you live in the area and haven’t been before, I highly suggest it. I’m looking forward to trying some funky vegan fair food and gawking at the painted naked bikers. Sunday is also Father’s Day, so I’m sure it’ll be a busy weekend for everyone. Of course, I can’t even begin to launch into my weekend without first sharing my favorites from the week. So without further ado, here they are! 
.
.

ff6.19.2015

.

1. This week I had a popsicle for the first time in probably a year and it left me craving more. I’ve been thinking about making my own at home, but don’t want to just pour fruit juice into molds. This round-up of popsicle cocktails is the perfect inspiration. 

2. Recently I’ve had the travel bug something bad. My friends Esther and Xenia recently got back from a three week trip to Europe and it’s got me fantasizing about picnicking in the gardens of Versailles and strolling along Notting Hill’s tree-lined streets. For now, I’m satisfying myself by living vicariously through one of my favorite blogger’s European adventures.

3. One of the newer trends in subscription services are coffee subscriptions, delivering freshly roasted beans straight to your door. The multiple roaster subscriptions are a great way to try out a variety of independent specialty roasters. If you’ve yet to find the perfect gift for dad, this might just be it.
.
4. Daughters sharing beauty tips for and from their dads? The responses are almost as cute as the accompanying pictures.  
.
5. I studied abroad in Turkey during college, where I was first exposed to Islamic culture. I’m still close with several friends I met through my program, all of whom are Muslim. This piece on women wearing hijab as a feminist statement made me think of my good friend Nuni, who practices Islam but is also vocal about women’s rights. Given that Ramadan started this week, it’s a particularly timely read.
.
XOXO,
Jules

6 responses

  1. That solstice fair sounds so fun!

    Who doesn’t love popsicles? How have you gone so long without one?! Hah

    I dream of going to Europe all the time! I’ll have to check out that blog you mentioned.

    Happy Friday girls!! Yay!

  2. I can’t wait to make some boozy popsicles this summer! Especially the limoncello and French 75 flavors…yum!

