Weekend Adventures: Fremont Solstice Fair

Fremont Solstice Fair 2015

This weekend Jules and I headed to the Fremont Solstice Fair, an annual bohemian celebration marking the beginning of summer in Seattle. Featuring musical performers, local artists, and a free-spirited parade, the fair is probably best known for the Solstice Cyclists, a group of naked bikers who paint themselves and ride through the streets of Fremont in the buff. (Sorry, no pics of the naked bike riding!) The parade was a lot of fun; there were some very impressive children on stilts, a marching band playing Macklemore, and the biggest beach ball I’ve ever seen…

Fremont Solstice Parade, Seattle

Fremont Solstice Parade, Seattle

Fremont Solstice Parade, Seattle

Fremont Solstice Parade, Seattle

Fremont Solstice Parade, Seattle

Apart from the parade, one of our favorite parts of the fair was the Art Car Blowout, an exhibition of fantastically (and in some cases, hilariously) decorated cars. Jules loved the Gnome Wagon, while I was partial to the flamingos.

Art Cars // Fremont Solstice Fair, Seattle

Art Cars // Fremont Solstice Fair, Seattle

Bible Camp

Art Cars // Fremont Solstice Fair, Seattle

Art Cars // Fremont Solstice Fair, Seattle

Jules is a longtime fan of the Solstice Fair, and this year was my first time. I’m glad I finally got to experience this quintessential Seattle event! Have you been to the Solstice Fair? Would you ever participate in the naked bike ride? (My answer would have to be a resounding no, but rock on, Solstice Cyclists!) Also, I hear there’s a Dog Parade on Sunday – Jules, you should start planning next year’s doggie costumes now…

β™₯ Mil

Image source

13 responses

  1. This fair looks like such fun! πŸ˜€ People are so incredibly creative.
    Hahaha I would never have the courage to ride a bike naked through the city but I must say that I really admire the people who do. The whole event sounds like a must-see. πŸ™‚

    • Haha, I completely agree with you on that! It’s definitely a must-see, I can’t believe I’ve lived here for so long and never gone til this year. It was really fun!

      • Sometimes life just gets in the way but it’s so good once you finally get time to appreciate things you missed while you were busy with other things. πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve only been to the Soltice parade once. It was quite hilarious and I didn’t know about the naked bikers until they road by. 😁 😊

  3. Pingback: Friday Favorites « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

Leave a Reply

