Fresh Raspberries and a Recipe for Banging Brownies

gluten free and paleo browniesThis past weekend, Nick and I went raspberry picking with some friends of ours at Remlinger Farms. Growing up, we went berry picking every year, making jam and pies from the (literal) fruits of our labor. It may sound crazy, but as soon as I stepped back into the fields, I felt this wave of nostalgia just wash over me. Oh to be ten again, eating berries until my stomach ached.
..

Remblinger Farms raspberry picking

We left the field with four pounds of deliciousness. Look at that happy face.

.
Fresh raspberries pair perfectly with chocolate, so our trip had me craving a chocolate brownie something bad. I’ve been trying to keep the Paleo thing going as much as possible, so my goal was to come up with a brownie recipe with satisfied my cravings while still keeping things relatively healthy. I’ve tried making Paleo brownies with coconut flour several times, and they always come out too cakey. For me, it’s not a true brownie unless it’s rich and fudgey.

After spending way too much time researching the blogs, I found a promising recipe from Elena’s Pantry using almond butter as the core ingredient. I did a little tweaking (I can’t help myself) and ended up with hands down the best Paleo brownie I’ve ever had. Seriously, it’s good. The best part is that this brownie recipe checks off all the health food buzz words. It’s paleo, gluten-free, dairy-free, and refined sugar-free. Getting your chocolate fix and feeling good about it? If that doesn’t make these brownies banging, I don’t know what else would!
.
.
Banging Brownies

Serves about 10 (or just one if you’re me)

Ingredients
  • 16 ounces creamy roasted almond butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup no sugar added raspberry jam
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • ½ cup cacao powder
  • 1 ounce unsweetened baking chocolate
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • ½ teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
    .
Instructions
  1. In a large bowl, blend together almond butter, eggs, honey, jam, and vanilla until smooth. I think you could actually use any type of jam in this recipe as long as it was pretty smooth. You really can’t taste the flavor.
  2. Place the baking chocolate in a small bowl and submerge in almond milk. Melt in the microwave, stirring every 5-10 seconds until fully melted. The milk and chocolate should combine into a smooth paste. Scoop the paste into your large bowl and blend until smooth.
  3. Blend in cacao, salt and baking soda.
  4. Grease a 10 x 10 baking dish, or a pie pan. I like to use coconut oil, but anything will do.
  5. Pour batter into dish and bake at 325° for 25-35 minutes. Let cool before serving.
  6. Note: this recipe is meant to have a deep chocolate flavor without an overwhelming level of sugar. Adjust the sweetener according to your preferences.
    .

paleo and gluten free brownies

I recommend serving a slice loaded with fresh raspberries and vanilla ice cream.

.
I have one more slice left to enjoy tonight and then we’ll see how long I can hold out before making another batch. Any bets on how long I’ll make it? 1 day? 1 week?

XOXO,
Jules

9 responses

