Pumpkin Spice Steel Cut Oats – Slow Cooker Style

pumpkin spice oatmeal breakfast healthyTomorrow is the first day of fall, y’all! Last week Mil shared a great pumpkin recipe round-up, so this week I thought I’d share the latest pumpkin recipe I’ve been whipping up at home. I know it’s a little early to overload people with pumpkin, so I promise that I’ll share a non-pumpkin recipe soon. I’m probably going apple picking with my in-laws this weekend, so my mother-in-law’s famed apple pie recipe may make an appearance on the blog.

As the season shifts, I always start to gravitate away from smoothies for breakfast and towards warm comforting foods. Growing up we ate a lot of instant oatmeal and farina, which I loaded up with brown sugar and raisins (obviously). Now that I’m an adult, I still love oatmeal. It may not be glamorous or Instagram sexy, but with a few grown-up tweaks it’s a simple yet satisfying way to start my day.

Steel cut oats are the secret to grown-up oatmeal. They retain their integrity better than rolled oats, keeping your morning meal form turning into mush. They do however take longer to cook so I almost always cook them in the crockpot. My other grown-up tweak is the use of interesting flavors and add-ins. This recipe takes everyone’s favorite pumpkin pie flavors and transfers them into a healthy morning treat. Pumpkin pie for breakfast? Yes, please!
.

Pumpkin Pie Steel Cut Oats
Serves: 4

Ingredients
1 cup steel cut oats
3-1/2 cups water or milk of your choice
1 cup canned pumpkin puree
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
.

Directions: Throw everything into your slow cooker. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. I always stir mine a few times, but it’s not necessary. I like to cook the oats in water and then add milk when I reheat them. Typically I start the slow cook process on Sunday morning, so that night I can portion my oats out into containers to eat all week.
.

pumpkin spice oatmeal breakfast healthy

I was eating this for breakfast at work and one of my co-workers actually started asking who was eating pie for breakfast. I’ll accept that as a win!
.
What do you reach for on chilly fall mornings? Hot mug of coffee? Warm bowl of oatmeal like me?

.
XOXO,
Jules

9 responses

  1. This sounds lovely, a great inspiration to do something different with my morning oatmeal πŸ™‚
    Too bad our supermarkets don’t stock canned pumpkin puree (this pumpkin obsession in autumn is very American πŸ˜‰ but I will look around for a substitute.
    xx Anne

  2. Pingback: Green Smoothie Bowl « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

Leave a Reply

