Loafer Love

loafer fall 2015 fashion julia malinowskiThis fall, I’ve been on a mission. I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect pair of both oxfords and loafers. I think I’ve found the ideal oxfords in the new TOMS brogues. Most oxfords are narrow in the back, mercilessly pinching one’s heels. These have a wider back and extra cushioning, making them the most comfortable “dress” shoe I’ve honestly ever worn. Also, they’re super cute. I actually bought my pair at the Nordstrom Fall Beauty Trend Event with Mil.
.
However, I have yet to find the perfect loafer. This year, I’ve seen a number of interesting updates to the standard penny loafer and am having a hard time deciding on the right choice. For me, the perfect shoe is wearable on an at least weekly basis, but it’s so basic that it completely blends with the outfit. It needs to bring some punch and purpose.
.
celineThe “tuxedo” loafer, aka black and white, has been everywhere! This Celine pair, spotted on Julie of Sincerely Jules, is priced beyond my wildest dreams. However, here a few more affordable options I’ve been eyeing:
.
black and white loafer fall 2015 fashion julia malinowski1. Louis et Cie Tassel Loafer   2. Nine West Cap Toe Loafer   3. Circus by Sam Edelman Pointy Toe Loafer

.

.
On the other hand, I’ve also been loving the “smoking” loafer, a softer take on the more traditional shape. Lots of interesting colors and more of a blurring with a flat or a slipper.
.
gal-meets-glam-ripped-denim14This Stubbs and Wooton pair, spotted on Julia of Gal Meets Glam, is also out of my price range at $400+. Unfortunately my job at Porch.com has yet to pay me the big bucks. So goes working for a start-up… Naturally however, I hunted down a few more realistic options:
.
.

smoking loafer fall 2015 fashion julia malinowski1. Steve Madden Conncord Flat   2. Ecco Perth Calf Hair Loafer   3. Franco Sarto Freeze Smoking Loafer Flat

.

..
What are your thoughts? Black, white, and bold? Or something a little bit softer? I need your weigh-in, as I’m hopeless at making decisions on my own!
.
XOXO,
Jules
.
.
.
Photo sources: 1/2/3 

9 responses

  1. I noticed your oxfords yesterday, they are cute. I like the tuxedo loafers. Good luck finding a pair. It can be challenging to find a cute shoe that is comfortable. I’m still on the hunt for a new boot/bootie.

  2. I bought dark red loafers at the end of last winter and they didn’t get much mileage in the spring and summer, but now that the weather is chillier I’ve been wearing them multiple times a week! I like that they go with a lot of my clothes but they aren’t a more traditionally neutral color.

  3. I think all of the styles are cute except those made of leather and calf hair? Does anyone else find these disturbing? With so many stylish synthetic options available these days why support cruelty for fashion?

