2 Easy Makeup Looks for Halloween

Halloween is one of my favorite holidays of the year. I love seasonal candy and I love wigs, what can I say? This year, I’m not sure what I’m going to do. For the past four years, Nick and I have gone to my friend Misti’s over-the-top Halloween bash in Arkansas, but we have yet to find our “thing” in Seattle. Whatever we end up doing, I’m looking forward to an excuse to buy a new wig and potentially try out a new look.

As a minimalist kind of girl, I’m usually resistant to elaborate make-up looks. Contouring is straight up too much for me to worry about on a daily basis. However, Halloween is the one time of the year I fully embrace over the top make-up. If you’re having a hard time coming up with a good costume, look to your make-up drawer for an affordable and easy costume.
..
julia malinowski halloween makeup tutorial.

Over the past few years, I’ve found myself returning to the two favorite Halloween looks I’m sharing today: a Day of the Dead sugar skull and a deer (doe?). I love these looks for a couple reasons: 1) They are actual disguises. Halloween make-up should transform you into someone or something 2) They are both still pretty and feminine, as opposed to gory (no Walking Dead level gore for this girl, sorry Mil). 3) They’re easy options that require very little investment, but still look pretty impressive. Halloween can get expensive y’all.
.
halloween makeup tutorial.
To create a Day of the Dead look, I recommend following this tutorial by Shonagh Scott. You’ll need a few Halloween specific make-up supplies: white and black face paint, a bright face paint color, and optionally some small jewels. The best part about this look is its flexibility, you can really pair it with any outfit you want. If you have a Mexican style skirt or dress, perfect. Want to throw on a LBD and call it a day, that’s perfect too.
.

halloween makeup tutorial.
To create this deer look, follow this tutorial by Cheap Frills and Thrills. You’ll need the same white face paint, but beyond that everything else probably already lives in your makeup bag. Shannon recommends using fake eyelashes, but I didn’t find it necessary. As far as the outfit pairing goes, any earth-tone combo should do the trick. A fringed brown suede jacket would be particularly cute.

What are you doing for Halloween this year? Are you getting dressed up, taking the kid(s) tricking-or-treating, or holding it down on the couch with a scary movie marathon?
.
XOXO,
Jules
.
.
Photo credits: Misti Staley/Bernadette Messina
Photo sources: 1/2

12 responses

  1. These are great! I love the idea of a costume that’s basically elaborate makeup (somehow I’ve never done that)!

  2. Pingback: Friday Favorites: Halloween Edition « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

