Spicy Mexican Hot Chocolate

Mexican Hot Chocolate

Happy New Year, everyone! How’s 2016 treating you so far? With the insanity of the holidays behind us and a long, cold winter ahead of us, I think we could all use a little pick-me-up…something deliciously decadent that’s both spicy and sweet and warms you to your very core.

I first tried Mexican hot chocolate back in college and I absolutely loved its rich, complex flavor, but I never tried making it myself until last week. After experimenting with a few recipes and tweaking them to fit my own preferences, I landed on the following:

Mexican Hot Chocolate (serves 1)

  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tbs unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tbs granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • Generous pinch of chili powder
  • Dash of salt
  • 1 piece dark chocolate
  • Whipped cream

Mexican Hot Chocolate

Blend cocoa powder, sugar, cinnamon, chili powder and salt in a small bowl. Heat up the milk in the microwave and gradually stir in the cocoa mixture; then add the vanilla. (Note: for a larger batch, it would be easier to blend everything in a saucepan over medium-low heat.)

Mexican hot chocolate

Drop in a small piece of dark chocolate – a flavored variety like chipotle chili will add some extra kick – and allow it to melt. Then top with whipped cream and grate a little bit of dark chocolate on top. For added heat, sprinkle on some more chili powder.

Mexican Hot Chocolate

For best results, enjoy your hot chocolate in front of a roaring fire, ideally with snow falling softly outside.

Mexican Hot Chocolate

What’s your favorite way to make hot chocolate, sweet or spicy? Or perhaps with a little bit of booze in it?

ā™„ Mil

13 responses

    • Thanks so much, Samantha! If you love rich chocolate-y goodness, this is right up your alley šŸ™‚

    • Ah, I’m sorry to hear about the steamed veggies!! Definitely try this on a cheat day – it’s extremely satisfying. I haven’t tried Abuelitas chocolate, but I will keep an eye out for it – thanks for the rec šŸ™‚

  1. This sounds lovely. Dark spicy hot chocolate was a discovery for me, miles away from the sweet stuff you drink as a kid šŸ™‚

    • Thanks Monique! I hope you give it a try, it’s my favorite winter treat right now šŸ™‚

