Love Your Leftovers: Clementine Smoothie

clementine smoothie healthy citrus vitamin c
Throughout the cold and dreary days of winter, citrus fruits provide a much needed burst of bright and juicy refreshment. My personal favorite is the clementine, beloved for its easily removable peel and seedless segments. Pretty much every Sunday of the season you can find me in the produce aisle loading a new box of Cuties into my cart. The problem of course is that eventually I become a little overly ambitious and end up with a fridge full of fruit. What to do, what to do?

While smoothies are typically a summer staple, recently I’ve been whipping them up using my excess Clementines and have been loving the early morning energy boost they give me. This smoothie recipe reminds me a little bit of an Orange Julius, only without any additives. A light vanilla flavor is a delicious addition to orange flavors.

clementine smoothie healthy citrus vitamin c

.
Clementine Smoothie (serves 1)

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 clementines
  • A few chunks of frozen banana
  • ½ cup yogurt or light coconut milk
  • 1 drop pure vanilla extract
  • 3-4 ice cubes
  • Tiny dash sea salt
  • Optional: drizzle of honey for added sweetness, handful spinach

.
DIRECTIONS:

clementine smoothie healthy citrus vitamin c

Peel and segment your clementines. Remove as many of the white strings as possible. I was a little lax with my first batch and they added a weird stringy texture to my smoothie. Still delicious though.

.

clementine smoothie healthy citrus vitamin c

Toss your ingredients into a blender and process until smooth.

.

clementine smoothie healthy citrus vitamin c

Serve immediately and enjoy! For some extra nostalgia, serve with a soft pretzel and let yourself be whisked away to your glory days cruising the mall.

.
If you give this smoothie a try, let me know what you think!
.
XOXO,
Jules

3 responses

