Get Pinspired: 2016 All-American Travel Inspiration

This year, both Mil and I are trying to save money, which can cramp one’s travel plans. Rather than bemoan the absence of an exotic trip on this year’s agenda, I’ve set my sights on a few stateside destinations. There are so many unbelievable places to see across the country, some of which are woefully overlooked. Here’s my shortlist of must-visit American destinations for 2016.
.

Oneonta Gorge Oregon The Emerald Canyon American Road Trip

Oneonta Gorge is located in the Columbia River Gorge in Oregon. It’s close enough to Portland to make for a great add-on adventure to a visit to the city.

 

Grand Canyon Arizona American Road Trip

It seems like every year I pitch a trip to the Grand Canyon to Nick, but we never make a trip happen. This picture of Horseshoe Bend is enough to push me to recommit.

.

conde naste biltmore estate asheville north carolina american roadtrip

Asheville, North Carolina is home to one of the few American castles: Biltmore Estate. It’s basically as close to Downton Abbey as I may get this year, and I’m more than ok with that!

,

Charleston South Carolina American Road trip

Mil and I have been talking for a while about taking a trip to Charleston, South Carolina. She would fit right in amongst the historic homes and classic southern belles!

.

Santa Fe New Mexico American Road Trip

The Southwest has some unbelievable geology. So much red rock! Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument reminds me a bit of Cappadocia in Turkey – otherworldly.

.

New Orleans Louisiana American Road Trip

The French Quarter in New Orleans is probably on everyone’s bucket list, so no surprise here. As you know, I’m not a drinker so I’ll probably be avoiding Mardi Gras season.

..
.

What are your 2016 travel plans? Local road trips or long distance adventures? If you’re looking for travel inspiration, I suggest you check out our “Take me Away” Pinterest board with these ideas and more.

XOXO,
Jules

8 responses

  1. You have shown some amazing places! Good Luck with your travel plans. If you come North of the border, Vancouver and Whistler make for a great destination anytime of the year!

  2. I want to visit all of these ASAP, especially Charleston. And I didn’t realize Oneonta Gorge was so close to Portland! Nice!

Leave a Reply

