Onto the Next Adventure

north carolina raleigh

Y’all, I have news: I’m moving back to the South! My husband was offered a job with Citizen Schools in Durham, North Carolina. They’re an awesome organization that creates apprenticeship opportunities for low income middle school students.
.
Since we’re moving for Nick’s job, I’m relocating without a full time position, and let’s be honest, nothing sucks more than the job application grind. I won’t be totally bored though, as I’ll be providing part time support to my sister-in-law’s company: Firsthand Foods. They work with small North Carolina livestock farmers to bring pasture-raised meat into local markets.
.

Firsthand Foods Durham North Carolina

Co-CEOs of Firsthand Foods posing in front of their “sausage wagon.” Tina, my sister-in-law, is on the right.

.
The nice thing about the move is that my in-laws live in the Raleigh-Durham area. So we’ll be close to Nick’s family, although we are moving away from my family in Seattle. You win some, and you lose some, right?

Win: getting to become a regular at the bakery of my dreams. Loss: losing the ability to pop over to Mil’s apartment for some weekend snuggles. Win: returning to what feels like my roots in a relatively smaller Southern town with a vibrant downtown. Loss: moving away from a hub of diversity and Asian culture. I’m tempering my expectations for good sushi, pho, and all my other favorite delicacies.
.

brightleaf neighborhood downtown durham north carolina

Brightleaf Square in Downtown Durham

.
As some of our longer term readers may know, this is our second cross-country relocation in a year – and we’re not even in the military! I’m a bit nervous about having to build a new social and professional network. As my friend Danielle says, I’m picky. Not intentionally picky, I’m just a private and introverted person. I’m hoping that I can use the blogging network as an initial entry point into the community. If you’re a blogger in the area, or know of any bloggers in the area, please pass their names on!
.
Nick is driving across the country first and I’m following a week later with my brother. I leave on my big cross-country road trip on Tuesday, February 9th.
.
Want to follow along with my adventure? I’ll be posting pictures from the trip on Instagram (@JulesMalinowski).
.
XOXO,
Jules
.
.
Photo sources: 1/2/3

2 responses

