Green Smoothie Bowl

green smoothie bowlHere in North Carolina, spring is well underway with plenty of sunshine and temperatures in the 70s and 80s. Seattleites, don’t be jealous.

While I go crazy for cozy breakfast favorites like steel cut oats during winter, come spring my taste buds change their tune. I start craving fresh fruit and cold smoothies. As I’ve grown older, I’ve moved away from the sweeter flavors combinations, like peanut butter and banana, towards fresher and greener options. Greens pack an unbelievable punch of energy in the morning, much like a caffeine hit but without the ensuing crash. Lately I’ve been enjoying my smoothies a little thicker and from a bowl. Here’s my latest morning concoction, perfect to kick your morning off to a refreshing start.
.
Green Smoothing Bowl (serves 1)

Smoothie Ingredients
  • 1/4 ripe avocado
  • 3/4 ripe banana, previously sliced and frozen
  • 1/2 cup frozen pineapple
  • 2 large handfuls spinach
  • 1/4 cup vanilla Greek yogurt, preferably grass-fed
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk
Topping Ideas
  • Granola
  • Raw nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, sunflower seeds, etc.)
  • Shredded unsweetened coconut
  • Sliced fresh berries
  • Shredded coconut
  • Cocoa nibs
  • Sliced banana
.
Directions
  1. Add smoothie ingredients to your blender and blend until smooth. Start by adding a 1/2 cup milk and then slowly add more if needed. Be careful not to thin it too much. The texture should be pretty thick as you’re eating it through a spoon, not a straw.
  2. Taste and adjust flavor as needed, adding more banana or other fruit for sweetness, or more spinach (or other greens) for that extra punch of veggie power. You can also add some ice to make it a little thicker and colder. I don’t like my smoothies too intensely cold – brain freeze!
  3. For more protein, you can also add your protein powder of choice, almond butter, or if you’re adventurous an egg white.
  4. Pour into a serving bowl and top with toppings of your choosing!
  5. Smoothies are always best devoured immediately, although you can certainly keep leftovers in the fridge for a day.
    .
green smoothie bowl 2

Just look at that color. Does that scream spring or what?

.

green smoothie bowl healthy easy breakfast low fat vegetarian

An early morning smoothie bowl selfie. I’m not wearing any makeup here, which reminds me of Karen’s post on the #YouLookDisgusting campaign.

.
How do you like to eat your smoothies, in a glass or in a bowl? Any favorite spring and summer breakfast recipes? While I generally don’t eat dairy, I do eat some full fat and grass-fed Greek yogurt every week to make sure my probiotics are on point. For me, a favorite breakfast treat is a big bowl of vanilla yogurt with granola and berries. It’s about as close to real ice cream as I get these days.
.
XOXO,
Jules

3 responses

  1. Mmm pineapple! As you know, my breakfast is usually coffee, but this does look like a pretty good alternative 🙂

  2. Brilliant post Jules!!!! I love a fresh smoothie – but tend to take mine in a handy little sports type flask to work 🙂 How pretty are you looking with your fresh face! Beautiful picture Jules & thank you SO much for the kind mention!!! ❤ Karen XXX

  3. This looks delish! I’m not crazy about the smoothie in a bowl, but will try this combo in a glass.

    Love your selfie at the end! I wish I looked that good sans makeup. Miss you, hope all is well. 😘

