The Beauty Brief

The Beauty Brief

Hello, beauty lovers! I have lots to share with you in this month’s edition of the Beauty Brief, including my new favorite eyeshadow, the solution to unkempt cuticles, and a peculiar hybrid product that’s basically a flash grenade of gorgeousness for your face. Sound intriguing? Let’s talk beauty!

Clarins Beauty Flash Balm

Clarins Beauty Flash Balm is a mysterious thing. A worldwide cult favorite, it can’t really be classified as one product; it’s part primer, part lightweight moisturizer, part magical airbrushing cream. (Definitely not a balm, despite the name.) Figuring out how to use it was also a bit of a challenge, since the only instructions are to “apply without rubbing in.” I’ve concluded that the best approach is to spread a small amount all over your fingers and then pat it onto your face. It somehow diffuses imperfections and makes you look refreshed and radiant, like you just got a facial. I apply foundation immediately afterwards for an even smoother, brighter complexion. The only thing I don’t love about it is the scent (Clarins products tend to smell a little grandmotherly to me). But in no way is that a dealbreaker!

Laura Mercier Eye Colour

I’ve been trying to get myself out of an eyeshadow rut, so I was very happy to discover Laura Mercier Eye Colour. These shadows aren’t super pigmented, but they provide a beautiful, subtle wash of color that lasts all day (when paired with a good primer, of course). The shades pictured here are Plum Smoke and African Violet – I’d highly recommend them to any other green-eyed girls out there!

Julep Your Cuticles Look Thirsty

Julep’s aptly named cuticle cream is awesome. I go through this stuff so quickly! Made with honey and shea butter, it’s light and absorbs like a dream without leaving any residue, so you can apply it right before painting your nails without causing any problems. It also renders cuticles pretty much invisible, which I love (so much easier than trimming them)! I like to keep one in my purse and one on my bedside table so I can slather some on whenever the mood strikes.

What beauty products are you loving right now? Is there anything new that you really want to try? Let me know in the comments!

ā™„ Mil

13 responses

  1. You have really made me curious about the clarins balm. It sounds wonderful, though the no rubbing rule might take a little getting used to.
    Loving the color of those eye shadows as well, so pretty!
    xo Anne – Doves & Roses

    • The no rubbing rule is so bizarre! Especially since no further guidance is given. And I bet the eye shadows would look great on you since we have such similar coloring!

    • It’s fantastic! Julep may be known for their nail polish, but their other beauty products are equally amazing.

  2. So many people have recommended Laura Mercier products to me but for some reason I haven’t gotten around to actually getting samples and trying them out. I must do that soon because that eyeshadow color is gorg. and I’m not even a big eyeshadow girl. Thanks for posting this Mil.

    Kia / KTS
    http://www.houseofkts.com

    • Yay! You should definitely try LM – her radiance primer is the best, and I love her eyeshadow too.

    • Isn’t it cute? And it works really well, you’ll love it šŸ™‚ Thanks for reading, Dara!

