Friday Favorites & Turning 30

Happy Friday, everyone! I hope the week has treated you well! What are you up to this weekend? My 30th birthday is on Sunday, and with that in mind I thought I’d mix things up a bit with this week’s roundup and share some of my favorite experiences from the last decade. (By the way, how crazy is it that I’m at the point where I’m measuring my life in decades? When everybody turned 30 on Friends, they seemed SO much older!) But I digress. Stroll down memory lane with me and relive a few of the highlights from my twenties!

Highlights from my twenties

1. My senior year of college, I had the opportunity to spend a semester in Rome as part of my Classics major. As insane as it sounds in retrospect, I wasn’t initially sure that I wanted to do it. I didn’t speak Italian, it was my last year of school and didn’t want to spend half of it away from my friends (yeah, I kind of want to go back in time and slap myself). But I was equally afraid I’d end up regretting it if I didn’t go. So I took the plunge, and guess what? It was amazing. Duh. Not only was living in Rome was one of the most exciting and enriching experiences I’ve ever had, but it really got me out of my comfort zone – something I need more of in my life. Plus, gelato! Need I say more?

2. My 21st birthday party will forever live in infamy as my favorite birthday party of all time. My roommate planned an incredibly elaborate spy-themed soirรฉe: all the guests were assigned a mysterious alias and backstory. There were games (Mil-themed bingo!), prizes (booze, obviously), and of course, plenty of cocktails. To top it all off, my sister flew in to join the festivities. Best birthday party ever!

3. The year after graduating college, I spent months planning a trip to Mexico with a friend. But right before we were about to book it, I was laid off from my job (which happened to be my first job out of college, and my dream job to boot). I was depressed, totally broke, and in absolutely no position to spend big money on a vacation. You see where this is going, right? I went to Mexico anyway. Was it the financially responsible thing to do? Hell no. Would I do the same thing now? No way. But at the time, it was exactly what I needed. We spent ten days drinking margaritas on the beach, exploring Mayan ruins, and soaking up the sun. (And thankfully, by the time we went on the trip, I had found another job. Bullet dodged…)

4. Signing the lease on my first apartment is when I finally felt like an actual adult. No roommate, no family, just me, a legit grown-up. Nothing else before or since has given me the same sense of accomplishment and independence, probably because it was such a long time coming (I had moved back home after graduating college, and it was a few years before I was making enough money to live on my own). Leaving my childhood home behind, I found an apartment downtown, and I was so excited to be steps away from all the restaurants, cute shops, and countless happy hours. But perhaps best of all, I could finally decorate however I wanted. Sweet freedom!

5. I’m a pretty emotional person, but it takes a lot for me to cry in public. That went right out the window the day Jules got married. I can’t remember ever crying so many happy tears! My face literally hurt from smiling so much that day. I love the picture above because you can see how ridiculously happy I am to be standing up there with her. Love you, Jules!

Obviously I’m leaving a lot out, both good and bad, but I hope you enjoyed this brief (well, sort of) glimpse into my twenties. Here’s to the next decade!

Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

โ™ฅ Mil

8 responses

  1. Thank you for sharing, really nice to read this and to know you better! Enjoy your weekend it’ll be for sure a special and memorable one! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I love you so much, I love this post, and I love that I remember all these moments in your life! Particularly how envious I was of your study abroad trip in Rome and that vacation with Emie. I had never been to an all-inclusive resort before and it seemed so luxurious. Plus all those shots you looking stunningly tan.

    • You’ve been there through it all! Now we just need to plan a trip to an all-inclusive resort together ๐Ÿ™‚ And you definitely inspired me to go to Rome with your adventures in Turkey. Thank god for Skype or it would have been SO much tougher!

  3. Happy belated birthday! Hope you had an amazing day.
    I loved reading this post: so many lovely highlights. Rome must have been lovely, and you deserved that trip to mexico.
    Also, crying at weddings is so allowed (I always drag along tissues).
    xo Anne – Doves & Roses

Leave a Reply

