5 Summer Road Trips Around the Pacific Northwest

Hi friends! I hope our American readers had a lovely long weekend (and I hope everyone else had a lovely regular-length weekend). I was a little bummed that I didn’t get to travel anywhere over Memorial Day – last year Jules and I went to San Diego and it was awesome! – but now I’m extra motivated to plan a weekend getaway or two this summer. Here are five fun destinations within easy driving distance of Seattle that I have my eye on.

Cannon Beach, Oregon

5 Weekend Road Trips Around the Pacific Northwest // Cannon Beach, OR

Cannon Beach has a special place in my heart – it was my family’s favorite vacation spot when I was growing up. We’d come for a week every spring to frolic in the surf with our dog, explore the tide pools, and ride beach cruisers along the shore. I haven’t been in years, but I would love to go back.

Vancouver, British Columbia

5 Weekend Road Trips Around the Pacific Northwest // Vancouver BC, Canada

A weekend jaunt from Seattle to Vancouver, BC is perfect if you’re in the mood for an easy international excursion; you get to whip out your passport without needing to get on a plane or practice a foreign language on Duolingo. From shopping on Robson Street to taking a pulse-pounding stroll across the Capilano Suspension Bridge, there’s plenty to keep you occupied for a long weekend.

Ashland, Oregon

5 Weekend Road Trips Around the Pacific Northwest // Ashland, OR

Photo Credit: T Charles Erickson

 

A charming little town near the border of Oregon and California, Ashland is host to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, another time-honored tradition from my childhood. There’s nothing quite like watching a classic play in the beautiful, open-air Elizabethan Theatre. The festival offers much more than just Shakespeare, though – theater nerds of all persuasions will love it!

Portland, Oregon

5 Weekend Road Trips Around the Pacific Northwest // Portland, OR

Just three hours south of Seattle, Portland is always a safe bet for a fun weekend! My aunt and cousins live here, so I’m a somewhat regular visitor. If you go, you can’t miss Powell’s City of Books, the largest used and new bookstore in the world. It occupies an entire city block in the Pearl District; it’s so vast that they offer you a guide at the door. Seriously, it’s Disneyland for book lovers. Oh, and while you’re in Portland, don’t forget to pick me up some Voodoo Doughnuts.

Walla Walla, Washington

5 Weekend Road Trips Around the Pacific Northwest // Washington Wine Country

Dreaming of a trip to Napa but don’t want to splurge on a plane ticket? Washington wine country is a great alternative. The Walla Walla Valley is home to over a hundred wineries, beautiful scenery, and some of the cutest winery dogs you’ll ever meet. Admittedly, there’s not a ton to do in Walla Walla other than sip wine, but since when is that a bad thing?

What about you? Are you planning any trips this summer?

β™₯ Mil

 

Images: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5

17 responses

  1. Being from Canada, I’m a little partial to Vancouver myself… but from Seattle, another fun easy trip is to take the Clipper ferry to Victoria for the weekend. Victoria is a super fun little city, I highly recommend it!

    • I haven’t been to Victoria in way too long, but I remember it being really cute! Thanks for the suggestion πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I haven’t been to Chelan since I was a kid, so I don’t remember it that well…but another friend was just talking about it and saying how beautiful it is! I will add it to my list πŸ™‚

  2. This must be kismet because I was just telling my mother the other day that I need to go back to Vancouver. We used to go every 2 years but I haven’t been in 6 years.. so I can’t wait to go back and see it again. Wonderful choices of places to visit. I so need a vacay.

    Kia / KTS
    http://www.houseofkts.com

    • I say bring back the tradition! Summer is the perfect time to visit the Pacific NW. I haven’t been to Vancouver in forever but I always have so much fun there!

    • Summer in the PNW is a truly glorious thing!! Seems like the perfect excuse to come back for a visit πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Summer To-Do List « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

Leave a Reply

