What We’re Reading: The Beach Edition

Four books we can't wait to read on the beach this summer

‘Tis the season to lounge on the beach, binge-reading to your heart’s content! From modern chick lit to engrossing psychological thrillers, there are a ton of titles calling my name right now. Here are four books I can’t wait to read this summer.

1. An insightful look at the highs and lows of a complex, decades-long friendship, Rich and Pretty follows two childhood best friends in New York City who are struggling to maintain their bond as they enter their thirties and life pulls them in different directions.

2. Described as an “unholy hybrid of Beaches and The Exorcist” and a “heartwarming tale of friendship and demonic possession,” My Best Friend’s Exorcism won me over immediately based on the back cover alone. High school drama, dark humor, and supernatural thrills make an excellent combo!

3. I know, I know, The Girls is on everybody’s summer must-read list. But I started it yesterday, and just as the Manson-like cult in the book seduces 14-year-old Evie, Emma Cline’s debut novel is totally reeling me in.

4. Teo Avelar is not your average medical student. For one thing, his only friend is a cadaver. And when he falls in love with Clarice, Teo kidnaps her and embarks on a road trip across Brazil in a misguided (and terrifying) effort to convince her they belong together. Part macabre thriller, part demented love story, Perfect Days sounds utterly compelling.

What’s on your reading list this summer? Any suggestions for a great beach book? I’d love to hear your recommendations!

♥ Mil

Save

5 responses

  1. I attempted The Girls, but found it wasn’t the book for me—glad it’s reeling you in, though!—but I’m liking the look of these other titles. I can’t think of many summer-y books that I’ve bought recently, but some that I read years ago come to mind; Fortune by Megan Cole (as I remember was a good read), anything by Sarah Alderson, Sarah Ockler, or Colleen Hoover.

    • Thanks for the recommendations, Kat! I’m not familiar with those authors, but I’m excited to check them out. As for The Girls, I haven’t gotten too far – I definitely don’t like the protagonist (usually a dealbreaker for me), but the quick glimpses of the horrible crimes she was involved in have me dying to know the whole story!

  2. My best friend’s exorcism sounds great! I have to do a lot of serious reading for work, so I tend to go for light reading like supernatural romance novels or horror stories 😉

  3. Pingback: Summer To-Do List « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST

Leave a Reply

