Weekend Adventures: La Conner

Weekend Adventures: La Conner, WA

This weekend my mom and I took a mini road trip up to La Conner, a beloved nearby destination. We’ve been there many times over the years, but this time we went for something new: the Dandy Daffodil Tweed Ride! It’s pretty much what it sounds like – an excuse for Anglophiles to dress up in their finest tweeds and ride their bicycles through the daffodil fields. (My mom was the one actually participating, and I hung around on the sidelines taking pictures.) The ride lasted for several hours, including breaks for tea and scones.

Dandy Daffodil Tweed Ride

Dandy Daffodil Tweed Ride

While my mom was off on her bike ride, I spent the morning wandering around town with coffee in hand. La Conner is a sleepy little community with a cute downtown waterfront, and the main drag is lined with art galleries, antique stores, restaurants, and most importantly, multiple ice cream shops.

Rainbow Bridge, La Conner, WA

Downtown La Conner, WA

Fiddler crab sculpture, La Conner, WA

Nasty Jack's Antiques, La Conner, WA

After the bike ride, we made time for one of my favorite springtime traditions, the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival. Peak bloom is typically in mid-April, but the tulips have a mind of their own and decided to bloom early this year. Fortunately for us, this meant the crowds were less crazy than usual, while the flowers were as spectacular as ever.

Tulip Route, Skagit Valley Tulip Festival

Red tulips, Skagit Valley Tulip Festival

Roozengaarde, Skagit Valley Tulip Festival

Roozengaarde, Skagit Valley Tulip Festival

Roozengaarde, Skagit Valley Tulip Festival

Daffodil field, Skagit Valley Tulip Festival

Apologies for the flood of photos in this post…I had to hold myself back from including even more! It’s a little insane how beautiful it is there. How is spring treating you so far? Any fun adventures to report?

ā™„ Mil

17 responses

  1. Beautiful photos! I haven’t been to La Conner since I was a Kid and you have reminded me to take my own kids there.

    • I’m sure there will still be plenty to see! There were some areas only just starting to bloom when we were there. Have a great time, I’m sure you’ll love it!

  2. Wow! It sounds like you had quite a wonderful adventure there! These photos are breathtaking, Mil! I am such a tulip lover. The town you visited looks incredibly charming as well. šŸ™‚ xx