DIY: Peppermint Lip Scrub

You guys, this winter has been real rough on my lips. I can’t remember them ever being so dry, even when I lived in the arctic tundra wasteland that is Chicago. Slathering on Aquaphor and other balms helped them feel better, but didn’t do much to fix the problem, and the scrubs I usually love just weren’t cutting it. So when I came across a DIY recipe for all-natural lip scrub, I immediately decided to give it a shot. Turns out it’s soothing, decadently moisturizing, and exfoliates like nobody’s business; it was exactly what my poor chapped lips needed.

Lip scrub

I based my scrub on this recipe, with a couple of modifications. Most of what you need is probably already in your pantry!

Ingredients:

2 tsp granulated sugar

1 tsp coconut oil

1/2 tsp honey (raw honey is ideal)

A packet of raw cane sugar (optional)

Peppermint essential oil

A small jar (I used an empty eye cream jar)

Edit 2

Combine granulated sugar, coconut oil and honey in a small bowl and mix well. Add 5-6 drops of peppermint essential oil for a light minty scent.

Edit 3

If you prefer a grittier scrub (which I do!), add a few pinches of raw cane sugar. This is will boost the exfoliation powers of your scrub considerably. But if you want a very gentle scrub, stick to the granulated sugar (or use brown sugar instead, which is even softer).

Finally, mix the ingredients thoroughly and transfer to your jar. This recipe makes exactly enough to fill a .5 ounce container.

lip scrub 4

Scoop out a tiny little bit and apply to clean, dry lips. (Pro tip: applying the scrub with a spare toothbrush will help buff off dry skin.) Scrub vigorously and let it sit for a minute or two so your lips have the chance to soak up moisture from the honey and coconut oil. Then rinse off with a washcloth and apply your favorite lip balm to seal in hydration.

Real talk: I have tried a LOT of different scrubs and balms this season, but nothing has helped as much as this stuff. It’s incredibly effective, cheap, and super easy to make, which has earned it a permanent spot in my beauty routine. I promise it will rock your world!

Do you have a favorite DIY beauty remedy?

β™₯ Mil

10 responses

    • It is fantastic, Karen!! And SO much more moisturizing than any other scrub (but without leaving a residue like some do). But if you’re worried about it being too harsh I’d skip the raw sugar (and maybe substitute brown sugar for the granulated stuff). ❀

    • Thanks! I’m full of wisdom πŸ˜‰ You should give it a try, it works really well (and smells pretty good too)!

  1. Pingback: 5 Beauty DIYs to Get You Through the Zombie Apocalypse « SOUTH BY NORTHWEST